Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
This chocolate cake was excellent. I made it for a going away party and it served 17 people with small slices. This cake is very rich, the first bite tastes like eating pure chocolate. The second bite tastes like chocolate and raspberry. And from there it just gets better. Very addicting! I did not use unsweetened chocolate in the cake, I used bittersweet and semi-sweet. I used 2 8" pans and the cooking time was well over an hour. The cake came out moist. I refrigerated overnight before shaving and filling/icing. The cake is amazing. Tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
My whole family loved this recipe. I've made it twice - once I added the 1/2 cup of sugar to the egg whites - once I left it out. The cake was just as wonderful. I do double the filling. The cake travels well ( 8 hours in a cooler to an out of state birthday party) and looks beautiful with a garnish of raspberries and a little whipped creme on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The cake was incredibly dense and one push down with the knife caused all the raspberry filling to come out the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
The best cake ever! I made it for a bday dinner and was a huge success! So decadent! Improved a little, I traded the vanilla for almond extract and ¾ cup coffee and ¼ cup Starbucks raspberry syrup, and used only 1 cup coco for the frosting !!! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I baked the cake itself as directed, but I followed the advice of other posters who suggested making a more stable raspberry filling using cornstarch. I did not realize the cake layers weren't quite cool when I began trimming them to stack more neatly. AS a result, the cake pretty much fell apart. Instead of serving layer cake, I turned it into a chocolate raspberry trifle. The cake was still warm, though, so it sort of melded into a rich pudding. It was delicious, whatever it turned out to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is an extremely dense "cake". I actually had a comment that they weren't sure if they were eating fudge or cake. There is definitely no pouring the batter into cake pans or folding egg whites in. I actually had to push the batter into the pan to fill it. The filling and frosting need to be doubled. Not nearly enough of either. I ended up mixing the frosting with a batch of butter cream to minimize the dark chocolate flavor (the cake is already very dark chocolatey) and make enough to adequately cover the cake. A lot of people liked the flavor of the cake, but the texture leaves a lot to be desired. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very disappointing. I had such high hopes for this recipe considering all the chocolate, cream and fruit. After making the cakes and taking them out of the pan, one of them crumbled into a mess. Too bad since I was making it for a church fund raiser. I guess I will have to get a store bought one :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe and instruction exactly, except I used fresh raspberry for the filling. No professional reason. My store was out of frozen raspberry. The cake came out dense and moist. It turned out not too sweet, very elegant chocolate cake. I'd say use very good quality chocolate. A small piece satisfying me. It takes a little work, but definitely worth it. I would save this recipe for special occasion like someone's birthday or anniversary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The cake turns out more like a brownie consistency but I loved it :) I made it for a friend's birthday and people adored the cake. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Shea
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was the richest cake I ever made! It was LOVED by my family but it took hours and many mixing dishes. I would have given it 5 stars but there should have been a better option/directions on making a raspberry filling from scratch. I also only baked it for 30 mins based on comments and the cake layers were perfect! The icing was super runny- I just dumped it on. It looked great anyway flowing all over and around the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States