DeeAnn's Cheesy Bacon Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I've been making this recipe for over thirty years. Two differences I do are, I add a little butter and olive oil after removing the bacon. I then saute a nice sweet chopped onion before adding the cabbage and bacon. Cook covered until tender.I never tried the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I modified this recipe by adding a chopped onion, three small zuccinis and three small yellow squash sliced in quarter inch rounds, and a tomato sliced lengthwise. Even people who didn't think they liked cooked cabbage enjoyed the dish. The bacon and cheese make the dish! I added two cups of water to make sure the cabbage was cooked because this made a 14" skillet full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This recipe was just ok!,I found it to be a little on the greasy side.The bacon does add flavor to the cabbage,but I didn't really enjoy the cheddar cheese in it. this dish yields alot,it would probably be best to use it all up because I don't think it would keep too well due to the cheese in the cabbage,etc...inetresting dish but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I added 1/2 of a thinly sliced onion, 1 shredded carrot, 1 sliced stalk of celery, and 2 T. extra virgin olive oil. I also used all of the bacon fat instead of only 1 T. This was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRALU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was like the best cabbage I have ever eaten. Thanks so much I will make this again and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Very simple to make. Next time, I will probably use just 4 slices of bacon (I used 5 this time) as I did find it a bit too greasy. I also only used about 1/2 a cup of cheese (combination of Monterey Jack, cheddar, mozzarella and colby). I'm glad I did as 2 cups would have been way too much. I highly recommend frying sweet onions with the cabbage as it goes very well in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
delicious!! i love fried cabbage and this is a great way to make it! i added a half an onion and sauteed it with a little garlic in the bacon drippings before adding the cabbage. i also added halved grape tomatoes after the cheese. it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Henyak
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Delicious, added some Worcestershire sauce, even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Henyak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Well, I never....tasted cabbage this good. And talk about quick and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe. Adding the cheese made it even better. I also too always add onion. I didn't use cheddar though I used shredded colby-jack. I prefer a little milder cheese. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States