DeeAnn's Cheesy Bacon Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I have made a similar version but never thought to add cheese. I like to add some onion and garlic to mine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My family loved this! I omitted the cheese and my son said it needs a little more spices (he likes hot food,so I added crushed red pepper). My husband says i need to make this at least once a month. Truly a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was very tasty, but it was missing something. I might add some celery seeds next time around, or some other spice. I reduced the cheese by half and only used 4 pieces of thick bacon. I also added onions, like many of the reviewers suggested. I found it necessary to cover the cabbage with a little bit of water to get it done without scorching it, but I was using a cast iron skillet, so that might have had something to do with it. Overall a good recipe, will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I used store bought real bacon bits and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth P.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
very good - doesn't need near the amount of oil the recipe suggests. the bacon makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Very simple to make. Next time, I will probably use just 4 slices of bacon (I used 5 this time) as I did find it a bit too greasy. I also only used about 1/2 a cup of cheese (combination of Monterey Jack, cheddar, mozzarella and colby). I'm glad I did as 2 cups would have been way too much. I highly recommend frying sweet onions with the cabbage as it goes very well in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Deeann, This recipe is the best,but...I have added some cooking notes of my own as well as more seasoning ingredients. This is truly a Southern dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was good, but a little too greasy for me. I even used less of the bacon grease than the recipe called for...I did add onion & it made it really good. I also used maple bacon (all I had) & that added a nice sweet taste to it. Cheddar cheese was a nice topping! I will make again, just less bacon grease...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Not so great for your cholesterol, but yummy in the tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This was really good, I did not realise that I liked fried cabbage. I halfed the amount of bacon, so it was not too salty but I did add bok choy, cause my hubby had picked it from our garden. It was a good addition, but there are so many things that would mix well in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States