Decorator Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is the perfect Sugar Cookie frosting. I baked the "Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies" submitted by:Angie Seaman, and used this frosting with sprinkles. I have a cookie jar filled with perfectly delightful tasting cookies. They make the best combination, and I am switching to them both from now on. This frosting starts off softer on the cookies and then hardens up enough to stack them without being crunchy. Absolute perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This frosting came out great! What I did was I divided the frosting into four different bowls after adding the vanilla extract. Then I put 2 drops of different food colorings into each bowl so I could decorate some easter sugar cookies I made. It worked out perfect and it made a lot of frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
We really liked this icing. It's a lot like the icing that my Mother made years ago. Only she added a bit of cream of tartar. This recipe is easy to work with as well. If you want to change the taste for something a little different try adding a little vanilla, or almond extract, even lemon extract. For a few ideas. Thanks for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
We usually make butter cookies for the holidays that we decorate w/ colorful royal icing. This recipe did not mix well w/ food coloring, and in the end, had subtle white streaks through it. I've found that there are less ingredients in the recipe for Royal Icing, and that food coloring mixes in well to give you a smooth, uniform color, with the same sweet result as this frosting. I'm switching back to Royal Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I have never successfully made any frosting. But this one is IT! I havled the recipe and used a fork to beat and mix. Even though it took a long time and it was exhausting, it was really worth it! I used them to decorate my gingerbread men. The best thing is the frosting hardened up overnight making the cookies possible to be stacked. #1 frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I had never made a homemade frosting for my sugar cookies before. I expected with a name like "Decorator frosting that it would be close to a royal icing or stiffer.It is not. This recipe was very good.I halfed the recipe and there was plenty to frost 3 doz. 4" heart shaped cookies. The texture was creamy smooth and not greasy or gritty. I added 1/4 teaspoon of imitation vanilla butter nut flavoring. It added a tiny bit of color and a nice flavor. My husband and two toddlers love them.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I have used this recipe several times with a few changes. I use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 margerine and also add almond extract instead of vanilla. Use this on "Best Ever Rolled Sugar Cookies" for a wonderful treat. After frosting each cookie try dipping your frosting spatula in cold water and gently running it over the top of the frosting. This will give your cookie a shiny finish. Be careful not to wet it too much or you may end up with soggy cookies! Or gently pat it with a paper towel for a textured look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I LIKE THIS RECIPE. I USE IT A LOT WITH THE BEST EVER ROLLED SUGAR COOKIE RECIPE. I DO NOT ADD THE RED FOOD COLORING, I MAKE WHATEVER COLORS I WILL BE NEEDING, AND I ALWAYS ADD EXTRA VANILLA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I had 4 small ones at my house this afternoon and we decided to decorate sugar cookies with this frosting. I've used this recipe several times since I first tried it and have always had good results. The texture is smooth and creamy. I've used red and yellow coloring and they've both turned out beautifully. Highly recommend!! Thanks P. Oakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Very good and easy! Just the right amount of sweetness. Great on sugar cookies and cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States