Decorator Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I used this recipe (I used mostly margarine and a little butter because that's what was on hand, plus I added 1 t almond extract) to decorate cookies tonight. It not only tastes delicious, but it works well for decorating and sets up nicely for putting the cookies in tins. This is my new go-to icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
worked perfectly for sugar cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I only needed a little bit of frosting for the gingerbread cookies we made for santa this year. This is a great recipe. I only used one stick of butter, eye-balled the milk and vanilla and probably only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Didn't use the food coloring. But this recipe definitely helps to figure out the ratio of butter to sugar. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made the recipes exactly as stated except I added some lemon extract for xmas cookies and it was awesome. I liked how quickly they dried and stayed moist inside. I took my time creaming the sugar and butter and slowly adding milk to get the consistancy I needed which needed to be even smoother, but oh well, they were still awesome. This will be my go-to for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I liked this recipe. I am baking Christmas cookies and decorated sugar cookies with this. The only problem I had was that my house was very warm because of all the baking and it took a long time for the frosting to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Torneby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe makes a delicious frosting that we used for Christmas cookies. Needed to add more milk though, as it was pretty dry, as others noted. We used almond extract instead of vanilla: delish. I can't see how the vanilla extract would be "optional," as noted in the recipe. Wondering if P.Oakes meant to write that the red food coloring was optional, instead of the extract?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
great recipe! I made a half batch for a few cookies. It set up pretty quickly and has a good sweet nice, but not too overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I used almond extract instead of vanilla the first time I used this recipe. The second time I used half vanilla and half almond extract. Both were SOOOO delicious. I used this to decorate gingerbread cookies and then sugar cookies. I loved how easy it was to work with! I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the best cookie frosting I've ever had. Everyone loved it and immediately asked for the recipe. I think I've given it to four people this month already. My only alteration was to add .5 tsp of almond and .5 tsp of lemon extracts to it as well. I did that to match the flavor profile of my sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marli Larimer
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Worked perfectly on my gingerbread cookies. (We don't like royal icing. What's the point if you are going to actually eat the cookie.) We didn't add the food coloring and I added extra clear vanilla extract and a very small pinch of salt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States