Decorator Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This frosting was alright, however, it is not great for decorating. I added cinnamon and used it on banana cupcakes, which was very good. When I tried to make roses with it, it got too runny. If you are looking for a good decorating icing- use something with shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was GREAT! I actually forgot the vanilla extract, and it was fine. So buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
One of the best tasting frostings on this website! I've tried other recipes and this one has turned out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Perfect for decorating the Blue Ribbon Sugar cookies that I used for my daughter's 5th birthday cookie decorating party:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
You can't beat this old school frosting recipe! Don't use margarine...use REAL butter. Be sure to beat it for the alotted time. Delish! I use a few drops of white food coloring if I want the frosting to be more white because the butter yellows the frosting a bit. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I would use this again but I'm still looking for something more! Buttery but not sugary enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Linde
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Yum, not too sweet, perfect. I have to agree with some others it came out a little too thick for me however I loved that because I could make it the consistency I wanted by adding some milk. If i was going to make cookie sandwhichs the consistency it came out as would have been perfect. I was using this to frost the soft gingerbread cookies from this site and mmm it was yummy. Another thing I would have to agree with was that the color did seem streaky but that didnt bug me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a nicely flavored, crusting confectioners sugar frosting. It was a bit too thick for my thin cookies, so I added a dash more milk. But that's the beauty of this type of frosting: it's easy to adjust the consistency with more milk or more sugar to suit your needs for every occasion. The butter gives a good flavor (better than shortening) and I also added some orange extract. After it sits on the cookies for a while, it has a nice crust so you can stack them. However, under the crust is still soft frosting. My family and I loved it! We'll definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Farrer Stelma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is a tasty recipe for frosting! I added a hint of lemon flavoring and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Kent
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This frosting turned out perfect! Made a HUGE batch! Way more than I needed. But was very simple to make, and tastes good on the sugar cookies I made! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States