Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Perfect. Used on sugar cookies (Christmas cookies) perfect for what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Thanks to this recipe my cupcakes were yummy....loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I added a little more almond extract than said, and it tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oral, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tabatha.k
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
As far as texture, this icing was PERFECT for piping. The taste...not so much. I followed the recipe exactly and I could barely get through eating the first cupcake. You can feel the shortening grease on your lips and maybe it's just me but it really grossed me out. Also, it's too sugary. I realize I could've tweaked it but I wanted to see how it turned out by following it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Standard Frosting! I did use all Butter only because I didnt need a pure white icing plus i prefer the flavor over using Shortening! Very creamy and fluffy!! Perfect for the Birthday cake I made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is a fantastic frosting!! I used this recipe for the cupcakes that I made for my 2 year old daughters birthday part. I substituded vanilla extract (brown) and 1/2 cup of butter 1/2 shortening and it came out PERFECT!! I used brown vanilla extract because I colored the frosting with food coloring anyway and my daughter is allergic to almonds. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe if you need to decorate your cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe is great and super easy and I loved its consistency! I used butter instead of shortening and added more milk. Put vanilla extract with the almond because it wasn't strong enough and colored it with very soft pink and sky blue and made beautiful cupcakes, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
A good basic decorator's frosting. I replaced the almond extract with another flavor. When you want pure white this will get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I use clear vanilla extract instead of almond, add a can of vanilla frosting from the store and two more tbs of milk. Now that is the perfect frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckortbein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I am not a cake decorator, but but wanted to try hand at making "furry" cupcakes using a Wiltons grass tip. I was very happy with this, and it made for a terrific first try. It was very easy to handle, and easy to thin and thicken. its a perfect white and took the blue color well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States