Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is my husbands all time favorite frosting. I make it atleast one a week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
The consistency was very good for decorating. The flavor was okay. Next time I might use butter instead of shortening and a different flavoring. But this is a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This was a great starting point for frosting! I didn't add the almond and added lemon extract instead, and tinted it with food coloring. It came out pretty well. Thanks for this quick and easy recipe, I will probably use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I made this today to decorate a birthday cake and I am very pleased with the results. This is teriffic for making flowers, borders, and writing on cakes. I separated it into 3 bowls and added a different food coloring to each one...I made pink and yellow for flowers and green for leaves. This should be a thick frosting in order to pipe it out of the different decorating tips. I would not thin it down to frost an entire cake...it's very sweet in large amounts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Fabulous icing for cake decorating! My daughter was decorating a cake for her 4H project to enter in our county fair. We needed a really good icing that handled well for frosting the cake and doing borders, flowers etc. This was the best one we tried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is the decorating frosting recipe that I learned when I first started decorating cakes. I like the almond flavoring but you can also use butter flavoring if you prefer the butter flavor. Actually butter can be used rather than the shortning but then you will not have a true white frosting that decorators want. I have also substituted any number of flavorings depending on what I wanted although almond is my personal favorite. You have to remember this is made for DECORATING, more so than the actual flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Im sorry to say this frosting was not very good. You could realy taste the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This is probably the easiest, tastiest recipe I have found for this type of frosting. I made it for a baby shower cake, and it came out perfect. Piped beautifully also, without even thinning it down (it had be refrigerated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
Yes this frosting is white, but that's about it. The taste is average...very sweet and leaves a film in your mouth afterwards. I frosted a white cake with this and ended up having to throw it away because my family disliked the frosting. Sorry. This recipe did have potential though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
it is an average decorating frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States