Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very good! I didn't change a thing and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this again today! (I have a ton of cupcakes in my future) and to the mix I added 2 tbs of cocoa, and in place of the warm water I used warm coffee. PERFECTION. Super awesome chocolate frosting. My 6 year old and my 1 year old licked the beaters and were COATED in it. Happy times! (Till bathtime, now my tub is coated in it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Good frosting! I needed it for my Wiltons decorating class... This is the same recipe they gave us minus the optional meringue powder and salt. Also a tip from my decorating instructor is to use water instead of milk so you can leave your frosting out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I realy did not know that they had a recipie for this ! I've been making it for years! ( 35 ) . And have had people ask me how i made it . !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durand, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I made this with all crisco baking shortening butter flavor. I beat shortening with heavy cream to replace milk, vanilla (instead of almond)extract and added dash of sea salt like others suggested. Then I blended in the sugar until it was light and fluffy. Half I used as is and the other half was mixed with 1/2 cup cocoa powder and it made a great light chocolate frosting. I did need to add a little more cream and didn't even measure the powder sugar, just used what was needed for right consistancy. Great basic recipe Jean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Excellent!!...I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening!!!...First time to decorate cupcakes with pastry bag & tip...Will never ice w/ knife again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is an excellent frosting. I've been making a similar one for years. But normally use clear vanilla extract or butter flavoring. I like the almond flavor in this one. But I feel you could use any different extract you wish to flavor per cake or cupcakes you desire. I've even used Rum extract....and it's lip smacking. But this is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Thank you for such an easy frosting recipe. Mine turned out light and fluffy and perfect for my 2-year old to help decorate cupcakes. We will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The standard decorator frosting that most home cake decorators begin with. Admittedly, it's lovely to look at and pipes like a dream. However, the taste leaves a lot to be desired. When using only shortening, it's essential to add some salt to the mix - just a little will suffice, under 1/8 tsp - or the flavor will be dull, like it's missing something. That much almond extract will be too strong for those who don't absolutely love almond flavor, and there are many. Either half almond and half vanilla (clear, if you want to preserve that stark white color) or half vanilla and half lemon are more generally appealing possibilities. Thin to use as a frosting for the entire cake, but know ahead of time that this recipe might well be considered too sweet. For me, this isn't the overall taste I'm looking for. A frosting made with all or mostly shortening doesn't melt on the tongue the way I like. This frosting leaves a tell-tale gummy, cloyingly sweet residue. This frosting is better when reserved strictly for decorating. When used for this purpose, I find that cutting the ingredients in half gives me plenty to decorate a 2-layer or 9" X 13" cake. Be aware that this will develop a light crust when left exposed to the air for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Used 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening. Turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States