Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a pretty, pure white frosting and very easy to work with. Thin it for a crumb coat, leave as is for piping, and thin, if you prefer, to frost. The texture is great as well - creamy and fluffy. But it was prettier to look at than it was to eat. I believe it is a combination of factors that made this not as good for flavor -the fact that it was all shortening made the taste flat. Maybe a pinch of salt would have helped that. The almond flavoring, while it keeps the frosting white, is harsh. I miss the buttery, vanilla flavor of other frosting recipes I've tried which are far better. This was one occasion where I pushed most of the frosting off to the side of my plate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by bella32484
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I did not follow the recipe exactly. I substitued 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter. I also used vanilla extract instead of Almond. I am not much of an almond fan, but the icing was great. Not as sweet as others I have used and alot simpler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella32484

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is the decorating frosting recipe that I learned when I first started decorating cakes. I like the almond flavoring but you can also use butter flavoring if you prefer the butter flavor. Actually butter can be used rather than the shortning but then you will not have a true white frosting that decorators want. I have also substituted any number of flavorings depending on what I wanted although almond is my personal favorite. You have to remember this is made for DECORATING, more so than the actual flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I'm a very serious, though non-professional, cake decorator. I bake and decorate a cake every two weeks, and even made my own wedding cake. First, I have to say, this icing DOES have its place: It's very easy to make, cheap, and kept in an airtight container in the refrigerator, it says good almost forever. I use this for practice all the time, but I *never* eat it. The taste is vile. It's greasy, and most people, myself included, find it way too sugary. There is no reason to serve this to people given there are actually tasty icing recipes out there that are still appropriate to decorate with. If you are coloring the frosting, a traditional buttercream is wonderful. If you must have pure white: marshmallow fondant is good for icing an entire cake, and boiled icing is great for writing and string work. If you need white flowers, gum paste can do the trick. If you absolutely must have *pure white piped flowers* and there is no way around it, I'd check gourmet stores or online to find some goat milk butter, which is pure white if it isn't dyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I made this today to decorate a birthday cake and I am very pleased with the results. This is teriffic for making flowers, borders, and writing on cakes. I separated it into 3 bowls and added a different food coloring to each one...I made pink and yellow for flowers and green for leaves. This should be a thick frosting in order to pipe it out of the different decorating tips. I would not thin it down to frost an entire cake...it's very sweet in large amounts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The standard decorator frosting that most home cake decorators begin with. Admittedly, it's lovely to look at and pipes like a dream. However, the taste leaves a lot to be desired. When using only shortening, it's essential to add some salt to the mix - just a little will suffice, under 1/8 tsp - or the flavor will be dull, like it's missing something. That much almond extract will be too strong for those who don't absolutely love almond flavor, and there are many. Either half almond and half vanilla (clear, if you want to preserve that stark white color) or half vanilla and half lemon are more generally appealing possibilities. Thin to use as a frosting for the entire cake, but know ahead of time that this recipe might well be considered too sweet. For me, this isn't the overall taste I'm looking for. A frosting made with all or mostly shortening doesn't melt on the tongue the way I like. This frosting leaves a tell-tale gummy, cloyingly sweet residue. This frosting is better when reserved strictly for decorating. When used for this purpose, I find that cutting the ingredients in half gives me plenty to decorate a 2-layer or 9" X 13" cake. Be aware that this will develop a light crust when left exposed to the air for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I used this frosting to make a wedding cake that I entered in a dessert contest at my school, and I won. :) It tasted good, and it worked nicely to cover the cake and also to make borders and decorations. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening instead of one whole cup of shortening. Also, I think 1 1/2 tsp of almond ex. was too much, and I reduced it to 1 tsp in the second batch. Thank you for this recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was exactly what I wanted it to be. I doubled the recipe and used half Crisco, half butter, and left out the almond extract (since I ran out). I used it to ice and build a princess castle and it was declared the best birthday cake that anybody ever saw! The flavor was really good too, unlike most bakery cakes anymore. Thank you so much, I'll use this one a lot for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I loved this frosting! I have used it several times now. It tastes awesome, simple to make and is good to frost cakes and cupcakes. I've used different variations - like used vanilla extract and lemon extract instead of almond. It was awesome! I used butter instead of shortening and it still turned out very white. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Fabulous icing for cake decorating! My daughter was decorating a cake for her 4H project to enter in our county fair. We needed a really good icing that handled well for frosting the cake and doing borders, flowers etc. This was the best one we tried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States