Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This frosting is OK for decorating, but not great for frosting the whole cake. I added a pinch of salt to tone down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I don't like shortening, so I used butter instead. It turned out great, the flavor was good and it was easy to work with. It was yellow to begin with, but I continued beating it in the mixer, and it ended up looking off-white. It was pretty close. I was going to color it anyway, so it didn't matter. Even as the plain color, against my chocolate frosting it looked white! I will definitely be using this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was delicious and wonderfully effective for my initiation into cake decorating. I substituted butter for the shortening because that is what I had available. It was very creamy. The downside was that as it warms, it becomes less able to keep its shape. Next time I will use half shortening/ half butter. I just kept all but a small portion refrigerated until I needed to use it... problem solved. I loved the texture and flavor. I will absolutely use this again. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was exactly what I wanted it to be. I doubled the recipe and used half Crisco, half butter, and left out the almond extract (since I ran out). I used it to ice and build a princess castle and it was declared the best birthday cake that anybody ever saw! The flavor was really good too, unlike most bakery cakes anymore. Thank you so much, I'll use this one a lot for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I have never liked any of the fronstings I've made but even I didn't mess this one up and it turned out great! It was just the right consistency and for once I'm not embarrassed to take the cupcakes I've made to a party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I loved this frosting! I have used it several times now. It tastes awesome, simple to make and is good to frost cakes and cupcakes. I've used different variations - like used vanilla extract and lemon extract instead of almond. It was awesome! I used butter instead of shortening and it still turned out very white. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bella32484
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I did not follow the recipe exactly. I substitued 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter. I also used vanilla extract instead of Almond. I am not much of an almond fan, but the icing was great. Not as sweet as others I have used and alot simpler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella32484

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This is the best frosting I have ever made. I plan to use this many many more times! It's easy to make, tastes wonderful, and you can flavor it with anything! And it's perfect for decorating, like it should be. I had made a Mountain Dew Cake for my boyfriend for his birthday, and wanted a different frosting than the one provided (he doesn't like coconut). I used this for both frosting AND decorating. Instead of using almond extract I used lemon extract so it would blend better with the flavor of the cake. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I used this frosting to make a wedding cake that I entered in a dessert contest at my school, and I won. :) It tasted good, and it worked nicely to cover the cake and also to make borders and decorations. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening instead of one whole cup of shortening. Also, I think 1 1/2 tsp of almond ex. was too much, and I reduced it to 1 tsp in the second batch. Thank you for this recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I use this frosting all the time for decorating cakes. It's perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom

Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States