Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I've used this recipe about 10 times now and it's a house favorite! It's very versatile and can be used as is, colored, thinned, etc. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is EXCELLENT frosting for decorating! Will use this often, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
unbelievable! perfect and stores great in the fridge. the almond does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Tasted like Crisco. This is regular frosting nothing special better off with store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This frosting is WONDERFUL and PERFECT for decorating!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is my new favorite icing! I fell in love w/a buttercream recipe from here, but I feel guilty serving it to people because of the raw eggs. I was searching for a WHITE frosting to make to decorate a cake and found this recipe and boy am I glad I did! I used clear vanilla extract instead of almond (fit my cake's flavor palate better) and it was white white! It tasted great and held up well for piping! I added more vanilla, so I also needed to add some more 10X sugar to get the right consistency. THANK YOU for my new go to *butter*cream recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caryn
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
this was the second time that i had attemped to make a frosting that wasnt the wilton recipe for my cake. it came out excelent. i also took some to class to make the roses for my cake and they came out better than the wilton icing roses. this recipe is deffinately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irene Zoidis Wright
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
great flavor, great presentation, got rave reviews from friends and family at my son's birthday! I used the home-made vanilla extract I had on hand and it was delicious! Everyone was devouring the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Zoidis Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This frosting is OK for decorating, but not great for frosting the whole cake. I added a pinch of salt to tone down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I don't like shortening, so I used butter instead. It turned out great, the flavor was good and it was easy to work with. It was yellow to begin with, but I continued beating it in the mixer, and it ended up looking off-white. It was pretty close. I was going to color it anyway, so it didn't matter. Even as the plain color, against my chocolate frosting it looked white! I will definitely be using this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States