Decadent Turtle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carolyn76
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The idea of it was great, the toppings were great and it tasted good, but the texture did not work out very well. I refrigerated it overnight, then put it in the freezer for about 5 hours before serving and it was still a little runny and very sticky in texture. I would probably put more cream cheese and less condensed milk in. Or maybe use a no-bake cheesecake recipe with cream cheese and cool whip. I also thought there was too much butter in the crust, I had to add more Oreos and blot it with a paper towel to absorb some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
It's definitely too soupy to be made by this recipe. Need to make adjustments as previous reviews have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I added a little rum extract to the filling and a small package 3 oz of instant vanilla pudding to the filling. Also the cream cheese was room temp and the Sweetened Cond Milk was cold. I mixed in the pudding mix and rum extract to the cond milk and whipped it really well before I added in the cream cheese - and then whipped it for 8 minutes. Mine set up really well. The filling tasted like the king Edwards pie. I also used the carmel and choc magic shell to drizzle over the top of the pie and then topped it with whipped cream and sprinkle toasted pecans and more of the toppings then chilled it over night. It was great. It seems like the rum extract took some of the sweetness away from the filling. Don't use fat free products or it will not set up . Use the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Pie is exactly as it should be and the filling does set if you follow recipe. I had this at a restaurant in FL and came here to find a recipe like the pie I had! Fantastic!!! Thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lake Martin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
it was tasty but it did not set up at all. you had to eat it with a spoon. not happy and very very disappointed in results. i will not be making this again. i wished i would have read the reviews before making. i know i will do that from here on out so i do not waste my time, effort, and money in making another flop of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made this pie for a bar-b-que and it was just wonderful. I think those who had trouble with the filling not setting might have made one or more of these mistakes: 1 - Use only Sweetened Condensed Milk made with WHOLE MILK ONLY 2 - Only ORIGINAL cream cheese will work, don't try to save calories or fat content here! 3 - The SOFTENED cream cheese (remove from refrigerator AT LEAST 3 HOURS BEFORE USING IT) and the Sweetened Condensed Milk MUST BE WHIPPED with an ELECTRIC MIXER on HIGH for the FULL 8 MINUTES required in the recipe. This is one of those unforgiving recipes. You will be punished if you don't follow the directions EXACTLY AS THEY ARE WRITTEN! Please try it again if you had a bad experience the first time. This is just DECADENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Wished I had read the reviews first. Didnt set at all. Sure wish Allrecipes would test the recipes before posting them. No one likes a failure! 1 star for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I thought this tasted pretty good, but it didn't set up at all. We put it in the freezer and ate it anyway, but it just didn't turn out like it should have. I think I will try to make it again, but I will use WAY less milk-- I'm thinking about 1/4 of a 14 oz can should be plenty. I will probably use more caramels too, as the brown sugar caramel sauce was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Try adding 1/2 cup - 1 cup of vanilla icecream to the mixture. This should harden it up if you then put it in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I have to agree with the majority here. I made this for our Christmas dinner and made it last night hoping that would make a difference....nothing!! It's not set up...it about ran out of the pie crust. I DID use sweetened condensed milk and not evaporated milk. I will never use this recipe again. I'm embarrassed that I will be serving this pie. This is the first time I have made this kind of pie and this happens!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States