Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
PLEASE MAKE!!! These are awesome! I made a few adjustments to the recipe though. I use half wheat flour, 1/2 cup less sugar and added chocolate chips. I also used 4 whole eggs(instead of whites) and omitted the water and allspice. Believe me, these turned out really well and several eaters told me they were the "best muffins they'd ever had" wow! I bet a few walnuts would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
The recipe has great flavor, but I didn't follow it by the book. I actually used some of theobromine goddess' suggestions from above in the hopes of avoiding the "rubbery" texture everyone seems to be getting. Rather than using 3 egg whites and 1 whole egg, I used 4 whole eggs. I also eliminated the water from the recipe entirely. Also, instead of raisins, I used dried cherries, cut in half. The muffins came out GREAT. I love that they don't need butter or oil. They're SO MOIST and have that wonderful pumpkin spice flavor. I antisipate making them again and again... they'll be great for the holiday baking season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
These were spectacular! I made some changes based on previous suggestions and loved the result. Here's what I did: substituted 1 cup of the flour with 1 cup of rolled oats; substituted 1/2 cup of the white sugar with Splenda; used 1-1/2 cups plain low fat yogurt as a substitute for applesauce and vanilla yogurt; added 1 tsp vanilla; used 3 whole eggs, and threw in a 1/2 cup of water because the batter was so thick. Baked the muffins in the giant muffin tins -- result was 12 perfectly baked muffins in 20 minutes. They were wonderful out of the oven but the next day were better -- the flavor settled in and the muffins became dense. Now it's day 3 and they're even better, especially with apricot jam. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaeOutWest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I adjusted the recipe a bit, but was VERY happy with the results. I used 1/2 c. maple syrup and 1/2 c. honey rather than the sugars and then did not add any water. I also substituted whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this recipe last minute for my daughter's class, since the schools are stressing more healthy foods than the usual cupcakes. I did make a few changes. First, I completely forgot to look at the can of pumpkin I had, and it already had spices in it (Libbys), so I ended up doubling the spices accidently. I also used regular Splenda (not the mix of sugar/Splenda) in the recipe, and had half the eggs be whole eggs, the other half egg whites. Everyone loved the muffins, they came out great, very moist and I couldn't tell I had substituted Splenda for sugar. Since the recipe called for applesauce (I used non-sweetened) and nonfat yogurt, I felt like it was such a healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Like the other reviewer stated, the muffins were rubbery the day I baked them. However, the next day they were great! I have several people asking for the receipe. This is just one of those receipes that is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I wish these muffins would have tasted half as good as they looked! I scaled the recipe to 12 servings and followed using all the ingredients listed. My only change after scaling was to use 1/8 teaspoon of ground cloves instead of 1/4. The spices really overpowered this muffin to the point that no one in my family would eat them (and we all like pumpkin)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
They are fantastic!! I halved the recipe did a few alterations. I used white whole wheat flour, splenda and splenda brown sugar and used 2 whole eggs instead of the egg and egg whites. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. They are totally awesome, I imagine it will be hard to keep my hands off of these. I LOVE muffins and am always looking for healthy muffins and I have found them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Great recipe! I followed the tips of some other reviewers and used half whole wheat flour, 4 whole eggs and no water. These came out great! Even my kids (both picky eaters) love them. And healthy enough to eat for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I basically cut this recipe in half, using 2 whole eggs instead of whites separated, I used chocolate mousse yogurt cuz that's what I had, and added some chocolate chips (which next time I will leave out b/c I didn't really feel they "went" with the pumpkin muffin flavor). These are great (even with the choco chips!)!! They are dense and moist, more like a pumpkin BREAD but in a muffin cup! Excellent! I will definitely make these again (minus the chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States