Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I admit I screwed this one up (I had the oven to 325 instead of 350). I had halved the recipe and once I had already baked them 20 min, they literally took 20 more. Came out rubbery and still undercooked in the inside. Maybe on a different day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ejt1977
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins and made it into a bundt cake. I altered nothing else. I did make a drizzle out of melted Hershey Kisses (Pumpkin Spice & Caramel Apple flavors). My kids ate two slices each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I was pretty skeptical of this recipe, but had half a can of pumpkin and vanilla yogurt that was going to go to waste. I was pleasantly surprised. These were very good. I did (accidentally double the brown sugar) and used 2 whole eggs (halved the recipe). Also, when I opened my applesauce it was moldy, so I used shortening (should have used oil b/c it didn't incorporate well). I'll probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These are super moist for having no shortening. That alone is enough for five stars in my book! They tasted a little salty to me, but that might've been my fault. I subbed a splenda knockoff for the sugar (I don't usually use it, but I had some lying around to use up), did 2 whole eggs, and then 2 T. flax meal + 6 T. water to sub for the remaining eggs. I skipped the water due to others' suggestions and just used 3 heaping t. pumpkin pie spice plus extra cinnamon in place of the spices. I used one c. of whole wheat flour and threw in the end of a bag of choc. chips. I might tweak this around a bit next time - use some honey instead of sugar, halve the salt, but all in all, a KEEPER, and I think the salty was my fault due to my substitutions. These also stuck to my muffin liners horribly. Next time I might just spray the muffin tin and do without the paper liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Leave out the water. Add 3/4 C chopped pecans. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These were simply heavenly! I didn't change a thing, the muffins turned out superb. Great light fluffy texture, and plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I altered the recipe slightly based on the other reviews I read before I made these. I used 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and 2 cups white flour. I decreased the white sugar to 1 1/4 cups. I omitted the water. And I used 2 eggs and 1 egg white. My kids went crazy for these and I was happy that they are pretty healthy. They tasted great but stuck to the paper cups pretty badly. That's why I am giving it 4 stars. Next time I am skipping the cups and just greasing the muffin pan. I will also add chopped nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I did make changes as other reviewers mentioned. I used 4 whole eggs, no water. I also made my own changes by using1-1/2 cups of AP flour, 1 cup whle wheat flour, 1 cup oats. Also instead of all the sugar I used only 1 cup honey which I wil reduce even further next time. Everyone loved them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
YUMMY! I took the other hints and used 4 eggs, no water and plain yogurt for the vanilla yogurt and applesauce (1 1/2 C total). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I only gave it 3 stars but I changed some things. I found them way more spicy than I would have liked. I was going to add chocolate chips but instead eat them with lowfat cottage cheese. I used white whole wheat flour, no raisins, 1 cup splenda, 1/2 cup splenda brown sugar blend, 1/2 cup sugar, and added 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla because I had plain yogurt. The muffins came out a little undercooked but the bars I made came out fine - very moist. all in all I like them but not sure others used to higher fat recipes would like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States