Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Halved the recipe. Only used cinnamon as my spice (2 tsps. total). Replaced the apple sauce with more yogurt; I used peach as that is what I had. Instead of the sugars I used 1/2 cup maple syrup and a little molasses. Used one whole egg. Just realized I forgot the baking powder (doh!) but I felt they rose well. Omitted the water and raisins. Mixed in some leftover streusel ingredients I'd saved in the freezer, 2 tsps. of chia seeds and All-Bran flakes. I baked 6 jumbo muffins at temperature indicated for about 40 minutes (checked after 25 mins.). They're kind a rubber-y and don't really taste pumpkin-y either. We don't really care for them. We ate one with a little butter and it was alright... Will probably eat these with jam or butter, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Holy Hannah - YUMMY! Used whole wheat flour, added raisins and chocolate chips and a wee bit of ground flax. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These turned out perfect, super moist. I didn't add cloves but replaced it with pumpkin pie spice and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I already had single servings of yogurt so I used two full servings which is a little more than called for. Same with the pumpkin, just used two whole cans and used an extra tablespoon of applesauce. I also made large muffins so they cooked a little longer. Great low fat and low calorie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I cut this recipe down to twelve servings. I used whole wheat white flour, upped the baking powder to a full teaspoon, used my own homemade pumpkin puree, cut the white sugar down to a quarter cup, I used my own homemade organic applesauce and organic raisins. I soaked the raisins in the water (that I warmed slightly) before adding it to the wet ingredients. This recipe was good and produced a moist muffin. Next time, I might skip the applesauce and add more pumpkin puree. Out of a half recipe, I got 12 muffins and 6 mini-muffins that were a little on the large size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These are amazing! Utilized some of the advice from previous posters. Used homemade applesauce, ground pecans in the mix, 1/2 wheat flour, and cut the sugar by 1/4 cup for 12. Used 1 egg & 1 egg white. Sprayed muffins cups with Pam & LIGHTLY sprinkled with sugar. They popped right out! Took 24 min. to bake. Moist, flavorful, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Too sweet and not pumkiny enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I also made some changes. I did 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour, used 1/2 c. less of the white sugar, I had no allspice so added alittle bit of ginger, I used unsweetened applesauce, omitted the raisins and added a few choco chips to the top. LOVED IT...next time I will use all whole wheat flour to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
the flavor is good but I am not completely sold on the texture. they Are SO moist that the muffin cups barely come off the muffin- and definitely not in one piece! Also- this made more like 30 muffins- I'd recommend making half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniejean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Amazing muffins!! I made a few small mods but I honestly don't think they affected flavour much. I used Robin Hood Nutri Flour Blend to add some fiber and nutritional value. I use this instead of all-purpose all the time. I only put 1/2 cup of sugar and added 1 cup of splenda as I like my baked goods to have less sugar as well. I also added 2 handfuls of pecans to half the batch, also very tasty. Overall an amazing recipe! I will definitely be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burgeo, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are amazing muffins! I did make some very minor changes, but essentially it's the same recipe. I used half wheat flour and half all-purpose flour to up the nutritional value a bit. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar because I think brown sugar really compliments anything pumpkin. I don't have all the spices on hand, but I do have pumpkin pie spice, so I used 4 tsp of that instead of the other spices. I will absolutely make these again! I especially love them with a little bit of whipped cream on top--heavenly! Thanks for the great recipe! EDIT: I used the water called for and the muffins got gooey after just one day. Still delicious, but way too moist. I will leave the water out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States