Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These were amazing! I used whole light wheat flour instead of white, and was out of allspice and cloves, but they were still delicious. I also tried this recipe with mashed ripe banana in place of pumpkin and eliminated the spices and applesauce, which was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Love this recipe! I modified it slightly by excluding the raisins and used less sugar. These are very moist and they taste and smell like the winter holidays. I made my first batch yesterday and brought a few for my co-workers...everyone loved them. I plan to make more tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I cut the sugar in half because I don't like my muffins super sweet. They were delicious! (cream cheese icing is a nice addition but they were just as good without it.) I also had to substitute 2% milk and a teaspoon of vanilla for the vanilla yogurt because I didn't have any. I compensated for this substitution with some extra flour. This worked. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Bend, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Adjusted for gluten + dairy intolerances! I think these are the best homemade GF muffins I've made; the texture is perfect. Many homemade GF muffins are too dense. They were just the tiniest bit rubbery toward the bottom of the muffin, but not enough to deter me from trying them again with the adjustment for 4 whole eggs. Here are our changes: King Arthur GF Multipurpose flour instead of all-purpose, added 1/2 tsp. xantham gum, xylitol instead of white sugar, 1 over-ripe banana instead of applesauce, SoDelicious vanilla coconut yogurt instead of dairy yogurt. Also ended up cooking for about 19 mins, but I live in Phoenix, so not sure if that makes any difference! I would recommend trying these out if you're trying to make GF homemade!! Nice surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
So i chose this recpie because i thought that i had everything in my pantry to make them. With the exception of vanilla yogert, but planned to use sour cream and vanilla instead. Well when i started making them i found that i was out of nearly every spice, and applecauce (apparently it does not last for ever!) Here is what i did to compensate, i used 1 and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 c. (or less canolla oil for the apple sauce, and added 1 tsp to replace the vanilla flavor of the yogurt. the batter was a little runnie so i left out the water, I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned also. They turned out great, my 4 year old daughter loved them, so did my 9 month old son. Husband loved them and took the extras to work. (this recpie made about 18 for me) I did think that i could have put in a little more spice, but it sould just be that i used fresh pumpkin. I will make these again, as written after a trip to the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These are delicious. I followed the recommendations of theobromine goddess plus made a few slight tweaks of my own: Use 4 whole eggs, Skip the water, Skip the allspice, Skip the raisins (my kids won't eat them in muffins), Use a generous 1/2 c applesauce, Use plain nonfat Fage yogurt. Next time I will adjust the cloves down and cinnamon up. Incredible. Add a generous tsp vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These are super moist, full of delicious pumpkin spice flavor, and easy to make! I omitted the water and used 1 cup of Egg Beaters instead of the egg whites. I'm so glad to find a spicy, delicious, pumpkin muffin recipe that is healthy too. Definitely a recipe to save!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I really like this recipe.. the only thing I changed was using three whole eggs, omitting the yogurt and doubling the spices (personal preference), otherwise absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These were very good. I did change two things. I used four whole eggs instead of what was called for. I also changed the spice and used pumpkin pie spice instead. All in all these turned out awesome. My only complaint would be that there is a slight tangy aftertaste to them that I'm not fond of. I'm thinking maybe that was from the yogurt but not sure. Like I said this is a very small complaint because to be honest I just stuffed myself with these. Thanks for a great recipe that I can give my kids for breakfast or a snack and not feel too terrible about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States