Decadent Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
My daughter insisted I give this a 5-star rating. She says "They're awesome!!!" I did use only 1 cup white sugar, plain non-fat yogurt and 4 whole eggs (and no water) and they are truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
These were spectacular! I made some changes based on previous suggestions and loved the result. Here's what I did: substituted 1 cup of the flour with 1 cup of rolled oats; substituted 1/2 cup of the white sugar with Splenda; used 1-1/2 cups plain low fat yogurt as a substitute for applesauce and vanilla yogurt; added 1 tsp vanilla; used 3 whole eggs, and threw in a 1/2 cup of water because the batter was so thick. Baked the muffins in the giant muffin tins -- result was 12 perfectly baked muffins in 20 minutes. They were wonderful out of the oven but the next day were better -- the flavor settled in and the muffins became dense. Now it's day 3 and they're even better, especially with apricot jam. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaeOutWest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Great recipe! I followed the tips of some other reviewers and used half whole wheat flour, 4 whole eggs and no water. These came out great! Even my kids (both picky eaters) love them. And healthy enough to eat for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
SO GOOD! Will continue making these forever! Me and my family really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These muffins were great. I did not find them rubbery at all. I had to replace the vanilla fat free yogurt with blueberry lemon fat free yogurt as that is all I had on hand and they were still delicious. Nice to find a tasty healthy recipe. Thanx so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These are the BEST pumpkin muffins! I did do some changes, such as adding about 1/8 cup more applesauce. I also did 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar. I did not add any water. Another thing I did was use 4 whole eggs and no nutts. I took these muffins to Thanksgiving dinner with my family and they LOVED them. They were gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I basically cut this recipe in half, using 2 whole eggs instead of whites separated, I used chocolate mousse yogurt cuz that's what I had, and added some chocolate chips (which next time I will leave out b/c I didn't really feel they "went" with the pumpkin muffin flavor). These are great (even with the choco chips!)!! They are dense and moist, more like a pumpkin BREAD but in a muffin cup! Excellent! I will definitely make these again (minus the chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
They were not exactly what I was looking for. They reminded me more of pumpkin bread, I was hoping that this muffin receipe would be lighter and fluffier. I used four whole eggs and cherry flavored craisins. I do not think that I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
As others suggested, I also changed the recipe a bit (used 4 whole eggs, no water, and about 1/2 the sugar - Splenda). I did not have plain yogart, so I used a non-fat peach flavored yogart (about 6 ozs) and just put a little more applesauce in. I also added the chocolate chips, which made this recipe GREAT! The cooking time did seem to take longer than 18 minutes (deepends on how full the muffin cups), but the taste and aroma are worth the wait. I'm still amazed they're so moist and tastey without any butter or oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
The recipe has great flavor, but I didn't follow it by the book. I actually used some of theobromine goddess' suggestions from above in the hopes of avoiding the "rubbery" texture everyone seems to be getting. Rather than using 3 egg whites and 1 whole egg, I used 4 whole eggs. I also eliminated the water from the recipe entirely. Also, instead of raisins, I used dried cherries, cut in half. The muffins came out GREAT. I love that they don't need butter or oil. They're SO MOIST and have that wonderful pumpkin spice flavor. I antisipate making them again and again... they'll be great for the holiday baking season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States