Decadent Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
GREAT! If you like chocolate and orange you have to try this cake! This cake is so good and it is not hard to make but looks very professional. The only thing I did differently is I used the remaining ganache that was to be pored over the final layer as a fluffy icing. I chilled it and then whipped it until light in color and fluffy. Then I just iced the cake as you normally would. I do recommend bringing this cake to room temperature before serving. It was a huge hit and I will defiantly make it again. I give it five starts! ( I used Large eggs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAS4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DETTY
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
THIS RECIPE IS SOOOO DECADENT..EVERYONE LOVED IT..IT TAKES A LITTLE TIME, BUT IT WORTH IT..I DIDN'T CHANGE A THING ..I DECORATED IT FOR A BIRTHDAY WITH GOLD CANDLES AND MANDARIN ORANGES SLICES AROUND THE BASE AND TOP OF CAKE. MY HUSBAND SAYS TO THROW AWAY ALL MY OLD RECEIPES AND JUST MAKE THIS ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DETTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and it was a hit. The ganache is so creamy and the cake so soft and fluffy with just the right amount of orange flavour. I will definitely be making this again. Not least of all because it is so easy. I had never baked a cake before in my life but it came out perfectly:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This cake is definitely a pain to make, but it's been delicious every time I make it. I like to do the frosting as is, or whipped. After several tries, I learned that it's best to put the cake together, with all the layers, and before you poor the ganache over the top, trim the sides of the cake so they're even. That way, the cake won't look like it has steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeza
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Delicious!!! I used about 1 1/2 cups less ganache and 1 cup less cream cheese filling and it tasted totally great anyways.(this is an easy way to cut out excess fat and calories ^^! b/c there is a LOT in this recipe!). To decorate, I used canned mandarin oranges. (You can use fresh ones in season, but then you need to peel the pulp off. Shape is easier retained in the canned ones). The oranges on top can make a very pretty star shape :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake adds a special flair and freshness to the month of January. I made it twice and agree the first time it was a bit on the dry side, but still a huge hit. The second time the reviews were even higher. I added 1 Tablespoon Grand Marineir to the cream cheese filling along with peach butter (variation of apple butter). I also added a a Tablespoon extra peach butter to the cake mix, which contributed to a nice full sweetness and a moister cake! Thanks for this great recipe...I will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Just perfect!!!! After reading others reviews, I was a little nervous because I am not a fan of marmalade and was worried that the cake would taste too much like it. Not the case at all. I followed the recipe exactly and served it for company. I did, however, take the advice of other readers and add canned mandarins for appearance and flavor, and it was awesome that way. Everyone raved. Not only does it look fabulous, but the individual layers and flavors are so well balanced. The cream cheese frosting went perfectly with the chocolate ganache and the orange cake. And none of it is too sweet, which I really appreciate. It takes a bit of time to prepare, but not too much, and it certainly isn't difficult. We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLIEFLOWER21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Everything was absolutely perfect about this recipe. It's the first time I've made an orange marmalade cake, and I don't even like marmalade. I was making it for a friend's anniversary cake. Very clear and easy to follow directions, made this cake perfect. I couldn't get the layers out of it probably because I only 9" cake pans not the 8" that the recipe called for. I still give it a 5 star for clear directions and awesome taste. Didn't change a thing except the pan size, and I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
It's soo rich tasting and not too difficult to make. I alo agree that it's a perfect party cake because it looks beautiful when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My girlfriend made this cake for dinner for my fiance and me last weekend.. He is from Holland and tough judge of sweets. he found this the best cake he ever had! Not super sweet, just Perfect! I loved it too! a good special occasion cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States