Decadent Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
GREAT! If you like chocolate and orange you have to try this cake! This cake is so good and it is not hard to make but looks very professional. The only thing I did differently is I used the remaining ganache that was to be pored over the final layer as a fluffy icing. I chilled it and then whipped it until light in color and fluffy. Then I just iced the cake as you normally would. I do recommend bringing this cake to room temperature before serving. It was a huge hit and I will defiantly make it again. I give it five starts! ( I used Large eggs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAS4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DETTY
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
THIS RECIPE IS SOOOO DECADENT..EVERYONE LOVED IT..IT TAKES A LITTLE TIME, BUT IT WORTH IT..I DIDN'T CHANGE A THING ..I DECORATED IT FOR A BIRTHDAY WITH GOLD CANDLES AND MANDARIN ORANGES SLICES AROUND THE BASE AND TOP OF CAKE. MY HUSBAND SAYS TO THROW AWAY ALL MY OLD RECEIPES AND JUST MAKE THIS ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DETTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and it was a hit. The ganache is so creamy and the cake so soft and fluffy with just the right amount of orange flavour. I will definitely be making this again. Not least of all because it is so easy. I had never baked a cake before in my life but it came out perfectly:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I personally did not care for this recipe thought because it was homemade I would get past all the orange pieces ...wrong! the combination of the orange peel and the marmalde was just to way to much. That was all I could taste. Now ever one else seemed to like it I made it for Thanksgiving however I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I made this for my husband's surprise birthday party. Either people loved it or hated it. Everyone LOVED the frosting. Even my hubby, the orange lover wasn't over the moon about it as he didn't like the minced orange rind in it. I will keep the recipe for the frosting. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
My husband wanted an orange cake for his birthday and this was one of the few I could find that was not a bundt cake. It was fantastic; it looked good and it tasted wonderful--restaurant quality in appearance, texture, and taste. Next time, I think I'd double the filling. To optimize the appearance of the cake, it's a good idea to trim around the edges to make sure the layers are even--this makes the ganache looks its best. Strong orange and chocolate flavors for anyone out there who really likes that combo! Thanks for an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I made this yesterday. The cake was excellent, orangey and light .It is a little time-consuming as opposes to doing something out of a box, but worth it if you like oranges. The frostings were another thing though. The reason I did not give this a 5 is because I disliked the cream cheese frosting, could be because I decided to use the 1/3rd fat version of cream cheese, I don’t know how would it be with the original full-fat version. The chocolate ganache was very nice. By mistake I bought the Bavarian flavored whipping cream and I just had 8 oz of semi-sweet bakers chocolate squares. So I reduced the cream quantity by 1/4th cup, but it still came out nice. Next time I will do the fluffy icing thing like one of the reviewers has done and will leave out the cream cheese altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeza
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Delicious!!! I used about 1 1/2 cups less ganache and 1 cup less cream cheese filling and it tasted totally great anyways.(this is an easy way to cut out excess fat and calories ^^! b/c there is a LOT in this recipe!). To decorate, I used canned mandarin oranges. (You can use fresh ones in season, but then you need to peel the pulp off. Shape is easier retained in the canned ones). The oranges on top can make a very pretty star shape :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Just perfect!!!! After reading others reviews, I was a little nervous because I am not a fan of marmalade and was worried that the cake would taste too much like it. Not the case at all. I followed the recipe exactly and served it for company. I did, however, take the advice of other readers and add canned mandarins for appearance and flavor, and it was awesome that way. Everyone raved. Not only does it look fabulous, but the individual layers and flavors are so well balanced. The cream cheese frosting went perfectly with the chocolate ganache and the orange cake. And none of it is too sweet, which I really appreciate. It takes a bit of time to prepare, but not too much, and it certainly isn't difficult. We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLIEFLOWER21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Everything was absolutely perfect about this recipe. It's the first time I've made an orange marmalade cake, and I don't even like marmalade. I was making it for a friend's anniversary cake. Very clear and easy to follow directions, made this cake perfect. I couldn't get the layers out of it probably because I only 9" cake pans not the 8" that the recipe called for. I still give it a 5 star for clear directions and awesome taste. Didn't change a thing except the pan size, and I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States