Decadent Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Frosting was fantastic. However, the cake was way too dry. I was not impressed and neither were my guests. I followed the recipe exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this cake for my mom's birthday. She loved it! She always has loved the chocolate and orange flavors together and this was just perfect! Even my 11 year old sister wanted me to make this cake for her birthday. I took some advice of others and whipped the chocolate gonache and it spread easily over the cake. Wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I will bake it again for sure! Thank you for sharing with us this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulejka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
We are huge fans of those chocolate orange candy balls that you eat in sections, like an orange - this taste just like those! Just a word of advise regarding pan size...I didn't have 8 inch pans and used 9 in pans, and the layers were rather thin and kept sliding around (until it was refrigerated...then firmed up). I also increased the ingredients for the filling and ganache, but didn't use it all...so next time I'll run to Walmart for 8 inch pans and make the recipe as stated. It's outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Awesome recipe, pretty easy to make. Have made it twice now, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was looking for an orange cake to make cake balls (cake & icing mixed together then dipped in chocolate). The orange flavor in this cake is wonderful and fresh. I also needed a lemon cake and decided to try this recipe using lemons instead of oranges, it turned out scrumptious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My girlfriend made this cake for dinner for my fiance and me last weekend.. He is from Holland and tough judge of sweets. he found this the best cake he ever had! Not super sweet, just Perfect! I loved it too! a good special occasion cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake adds a special flair and freshness to the month of January. I made it twice and agree the first time it was a bit on the dry side, but still a huge hit. The second time the reviews were even higher. I added 1 Tablespoon Grand Marineir to the cream cheese filling along with peach butter (variation of apple butter). I also added a a Tablespoon extra peach butter to the cake mix, which contributed to a nice full sweetness and a moister cake! Thanks for this great recipe...I will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
The orange filling was just great. I followed the recipe, but I preferred it a bit sweeter and more orangey, so I added some more marmalade and sugar to taste (also used confectioner's sugar for smoother consistency). :-D Overall, very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Everyone LOVED this cake. It was not too sweet, and the pairing of the bittersweet chocolate and orange was great. My only thought was that there could be more of the cream cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States