Decadent Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I followed another reviewer's idea and whipped the ganache to frost the outside of the cake. I think the cake could have used more orange flavor and next time I think I will add more marmalade to the cream cheese. Everyone really liked the cake and it looked professional. Thanks very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this for my wife and a friend of our's birthday (per her request). I don't bake often, but this cake was fairly straight forward and everyone really liked it. To me it could have been a little more orange. Perhaps I'll use more marmalade and I'm thinking of adding Grand Marnier or Triple Sec. As another person wrote, it is time consuming. I should have started first thing in the morning! Maybe I don't budget my time well. Anyway thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
lots of work but it worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I'm not super thrilled with this recipe. It tastes great but the crumb of the cake made it hard to trim and neither cake was tall enough to split, so I ended up with a two layer cake that just doesn't look all that pretty. I love the concept of this cake, so I will be developing my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The cake just doesn't hold up when being assembled. As in one reviewer, I couldn't prevent the cake from sliding despite all the tricks I knew. Worse is when the cake began to split. In the end, it looked like a mud pancake . Not at all salvageable and heaven forbid presentable . When a recipe requires splitting a cake with different fillings a ganache that merely spells disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I think this is what they eat in heaven! I made an account just to tell you how friggen awesome this cake is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Some people are saying that this cake is too dry, so I replaced the 3/4 cup unsalted butter with 3/4 cup butter flavored Crisco and 4 tsp. orange juice. It turned out great! Absolutely lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
As others have stated, the cake was a bit too dry for my liking. Despite using cake flour and mixing well, the layers were dense and almost pasty. The texture ruined what would otherwise be a delicious cake. I'm a huge fan of chocolate & orange and I liked that this wasn't too sweet. I'm wondering if this recipe is missing an ingredient- shouldn't there be at least a little oil in the mix? I may try adding some oil, or I may simply look for another orange cake recipe & modify it to use this frosting and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This cake is amazing and hit in my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suew1127
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Wow..this was a great cake! I cheated and doctored a yellow cake mix with orange juice, grated orange peel and marmalade since I didn't have enough time for the scratch cake. Otherwise I followed the recipe. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States