Decadent Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lauren Driscoll
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I don't even like the flavors and orange and chocolate and I still liked this cake. Brought this to the office for a group event...the feedback was all positive, and they would tell me otherwise. I was worried the cake might be dry but I found that the cream cheese and ganache kept it moist. I plan to make twice as much filling next time because I felt I had to be a bit stingy with it….maybe even had a hint more marmalade. The flavor is very well balanced in this cake, there is just enough orange without it be overwhelming. I made the cakes and filling the night before and then assembled the cake and made ganache the next day, it turned out fine. I will make this again...I know my husband would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Driscoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchak
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
loved it loved it loved it!! made it for my husband for his birthday and was a huge hit at the party! one of the cakes out of the two didnt rise much so i made it in three layers..it was still good though....the extra ganache made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This cake was a huge hit! Follow the instructions for 8" cake pan. I only had 9" available, and now see the difference it will make, especially with cooking time. Also, I added a couple of drops of orange food coloring to get a little more color. The only thing I will definately do differently in the future is to double or even triple the amount of orange cream cheese filling. It was delicious, and wished there was a thicker layer. I also served it with a glass of "Sabra", a chocolate-orange liquor from Israel. I decorated with mandarine oranges, and gold candles as pictured. Was a very pretty dish. The "birthday" girl I baked it for loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
While time consuming, this cake is definitely a show stopper. I am the pastry chef for a small restaurant in my city and brought this in yesterday. I checked to see today how the guests liked it and it was a hit! I did change the way I frosted it though, covered both seperate layers in the ganache and waited for it to harden. I spread the orange cream filling on the bottom layer, and topped it with the second later. Instead of covering the entire cake (sides and all) with the ganache, I made a simple cream cheese frosting and spread that along the sides and piped some decorative icing along the top edge of the cake. It was beautiful! I am rating this cake as four stars though because while I loved the density of it, the layers were just a bit dry. I'm going to try playing with the recipe a bit to see if I can achieve a bit more moistness. All said though, this is DELICIOUS! The orange flavor is not overpowering and the combination of the orange and chocolate is wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing! If anyone has any ideas on how to deal the moistness, please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This cake is definitely a pain to make, but it's been delicious every time I make it. I like to do the frosting as is, or whipped. After several tries, I learned that it's best to put the cake together, with all the layers, and before you poor the ganache over the top, trim the sides of the cake so they're even. That way, the cake won't look like it has steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
It's soo rich tasting and not too difficult to make. I alo agree that it's a perfect party cake because it looks beautiful when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Everything was absolutely perfect about this recipe. It's the first time I've made an orange marmalade cake, and I don't even like marmalade. I was making it for a friend's anniversary cake. Very clear and easy to follow directions, made this cake perfect. I couldn't get the layers out of it probably because I only 9" cake pans not the 8" that the recipe called for. I still give it a 5 star for clear directions and awesome taste. Didn't change a thing except the pan size, and I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Just perfect!!!! After reading others reviews, I was a little nervous because I am not a fan of marmalade and was worried that the cake would taste too much like it. Not the case at all. I followed the recipe exactly and served it for company. I did, however, take the advice of other readers and add canned mandarins for appearance and flavor, and it was awesome that way. Everyone raved. Not only does it look fabulous, but the individual layers and flavors are so well balanced. The cream cheese frosting went perfectly with the chocolate ganache and the orange cake. And none of it is too sweet, which I really appreciate. It takes a bit of time to prepare, but not too much, and it certainly isn't difficult. We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLIEFLOWER21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeza
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Delicious!!! I used about 1 1/2 cups less ganache and 1 cup less cream cheese filling and it tasted totally great anyways.(this is an easy way to cut out excess fat and calories ^^! b/c there is a LOT in this recipe!). To decorate, I used canned mandarin oranges. (You can use fresh ones in season, but then you need to peel the pulp off. Shape is easier retained in the canned ones). The oranges on top can make a very pretty star shape :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I made this yesterday. The cake was excellent, orangey and light .It is a little time-consuming as opposes to doing something out of a box, but worth it if you like oranges. The frostings were another thing though. The reason I did not give this a 5 is because I disliked the cream cheese frosting, could be because I decided to use the 1/3rd fat version of cream cheese, I don’t know how would it be with the original full-fat version. The chocolate ganache was very nice. By mistake I bought the Bavarian flavored whipping cream and I just had 8 oz of semi-sweet bakers chocolate squares. So I reduced the cream quantity by 1/4th cup, but it still came out nice. Next time I will do the fluffy icing thing like one of the reviewers has done and will leave out the cream cheese altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States