Decadent Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe is delicious and easy make. I substituted light agave nectar for the honey because that's what had available. I also watched YouTube videos on braiding the bread. My daughter thought it was the best stuff she has ever had !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved this recipe. Made it for the first time and followed the original recipe exactly and will definitely make it again. Used it for French toast this morning and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour which I find added an extra heartiness that worked very well with french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made one loaf as is and one with soaked raisins and cinnamon that I added in layers as I was kneading. My husband who is in recovery from cancer treatment and surgery was so impressed with how beautiful the braided loaves looked that he took a photo with his phone. He ate more bread tonight than he has eaten of anything in a long time. This is us-> :) (: I'm going to try one olive/rosemary and one almond/cranberry next time. Outstanding bread recipe- very simple to follow right down to the fancy braidwork which you made easy. Highly recommend to one and all. Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was my first time making Challah bread, and it was so easy! We live in the Texas panhandle where the climate is very dry and cold (18 was the high the day I made the bread), so my bread wasn't as round and puffy as the original photo. However, the dough rose enough to make two beautiful large braids. My family loved it as well as our friends with whom we celebrated Shabbat. And I followed the recipe exactly as it was given; I also used unbleached bread flour. It was sweet, soft and delicious...will be making every Friday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out amazing! The instructions were easy to follow, and my family loved it. We don't have a bakery in our town where we can buy Challah. It's nice to know I can make it myself. And the glaze gave it such a sweet taste. I would definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a nice bread that made two nice sized loaves. I love a sweet, light challah, and I found the olive oil made the bread taste a little heavier than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was my first time making Challah bread - it was store quality - very good texture and the glaze was added a nice sweetness though i didn't need as much as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fabulous recipe! My husband ate one loaf the day I made it- so good! Takes a bit longer to make than stated but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I halved the recipe to make a single Challah. We like our Challah sweet so I substituted some of the olive oil for more honey, maintaining the overall olive oil+honey quantity. So if the recipe calls for 1/3 cup olive oil I used about 1/4 cup olive oil and the remainder honey (in addition to the honey already included in the recipe). The Challah turned out sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States