Decadent Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by emmabambi
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Best bread recipe I have found so far, this came out so soft and it looked so beautiful I almost didn't wanna break into it! I added sun dried tomatoes in mine (just because I like sun dried tomatoes really) it gave it an awesome flavor! Me and my partner just ate it with cream cheese to dip and separate olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip, mmm I will be trying out other breads but this for sure will be my go to recipe. Beats store bought bread times a million :) thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alc265
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious! Made the recipe exactly as it is. One loaf is already gone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Easy to make and delicious! I sprinkled some cinnamon on them for an extra touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Horowitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was easy and delicious, and I will make it again. Here is a great video showing lots of ways to braid and decorate this bread. https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=353978061447749&set=vb.133191463526411&type=2&theater
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Newlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paloma Cuevas
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
It was delicious, a big hit with picky eaters. I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar, I like it a little sweeter and I was able to adapt it easily for a lactose free treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma Cuevas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by edaflefil
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I had never baked bread before, yet alone make a braided loaf!! This recipe is really yummy and super easy to follow. The only thing I'd change next time is the final step, where I will add poppy seeds and sesame seeds after brushing with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moran Zukerman
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
It came out nicely (though I was thinking it might be too much olive oil!), thank you for sharing the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moran Zukerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was an OK recipe, but it really wasn't the sweet, eggy bread that I grew up eating. I tasted the olive oil more than anything else, really. I'm currently trying a new batch with 3 eggs plus one yolk and 1/2c honey, and halving the olive oil. I'm still not sure it'll have enough eggs or sweetness though - if not, I might think about cutting down on the water (which did seem excessive to me), and replacing it with another yolk and more honey. I'll update when I've had time to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe was my first attempt at Challah bread. Make sure you let it cool a little after final baking and wrap in plastic wrap. The next day it will have that soft challah bread texture that you know and love. Also make sure to braid like it says or it won't puff up as it should. We used this to make french toast the next day and it was awesome! Thank you for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The texture of the bread is perfect, but I wouldn't call this a "decadent" challah. It actually tastes very oily to me. Could use a hint more salt too. I'm going to try round two this evening and use canola oil instead to see if that makes a difference in the flavor. The egg wash is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States