Decadent Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paloma Cuevas
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
It was delicious, a big hit with picky eaters. I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar, I like it a little sweeter and I was able to adapt it easily for a lactose free treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma Cuevas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by edaflefil
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I had never baked bread before, yet alone make a braided loaf!! This recipe is really yummy and super easy to follow. The only thing I'd change next time is the final step, where I will add poppy seeds and sesame seeds after brushing with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moran Zukerman
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
It came out nicely (though I was thinking it might be too much olive oil!), thank you for sharing the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moran Zukerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was an OK recipe, but it really wasn't the sweet, eggy bread that I grew up eating. I tasted the olive oil more than anything else, really. I'm currently trying a new batch with 3 eggs plus one yolk and 1/2c honey, and halving the olive oil. I'm still not sure it'll have enough eggs or sweetness though - if not, I might think about cutting down on the water (which did seem excessive to me), and replacing it with another yolk and more honey. I'll update when I've had time to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe was my first attempt at Challah bread. Make sure you let it cool a little after final baking and wrap in plastic wrap. The next day it will have that soft challah bread texture that you know and love. Also make sure to braid like it says or it won't puff up as it should. We used this to make french toast the next day and it was awesome! Thank you for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The texture of the bread is perfect, but I wouldn't call this a "decadent" challah. It actually tastes very oily to me. Could use a hint more salt too. I'm going to try round two this evening and use canola oil instead to see if that makes a difference in the flavor. The egg wash is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this today and it is amazing. I'll be using it for dinner rolls as well as cinnamon buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe many times and it always turn out nicely. The bread has a great texture and is delicious alone or with poppyseeds or sesame seeds sprinkled on top after using an egg wash. I have made it with olive oil and replaced it with canola oil and could not tell a difference. I have not tried the glaze. I use my Kitchenaid stand mixer and let the dough hook knead for about 5 minutes. This bread makes wonderful French toast and Croque Monsieur sandwiches. I make it several times a month. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KootenayCookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just baked this (and ate 3 slices as soon as it was cool enough to slice). This is amazing! I've been using another challah recipe, but I think this is my new go to. I didn't have any honey, but I did have agave syrup and that worked great. I think this might turn in to my go-to dough for other things too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ben H.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was my first "made-from-scratch" bread and it turned out wounderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States