Decadent Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fabulous recipe! My husband ate one loaf the day I made it- so good! Takes a bit longer to make than stated but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I halved the recipe to make a single Challah. We like our Challah sweet so I substituted some of the olive oil for more honey, maintaining the overall olive oil+honey quantity. So if the recipe calls for 1/3 cup olive oil I used about 1/4 cup olive oil and the remainder honey (in addition to the honey already included in the recipe). The Challah turned out sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
wonderful wonderful great directions We love bread at our homewe will be sharing and using this recipe many times thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Ive made challah bread before and was disappointed with this one. I followed the recipe close and thought it wasn't eggy or sweet enough. I worked for Thanksgiving since it turned out to be a decent bread but definitely didn't wow anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have been on the hunt for a great Shabbat challah recipe for many years and this one is it! Beautiful flavor and texture. My family now forgoes the bakery bought challah on Friday nights. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I make this all the time. A wonderful recipe, and very diverse dough. I have made it as cinnamon rolls, buns, and of course as challah bread. Wonderful recipe for novice bakers. Love it. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by kristenyaun
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The bread itself is amazing. I let sesame seeds soak with the glaze mixture to add flavor and that was tasty. The only problem is the bread doesn't taste like challah bread should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
THIS. WAS. AWESOME. I ended up making it twice--once for my household, and again for some friends of mine. I got two loaves out of it, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAVON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Fun to make, a good/ok bread but not the best tasting I've ever had. Drizzled vanilla frosting on top, made a good desert bread or breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I got 1 large 6 strand loaf out of the recipe. The loaf was approximately 8 inches wide and 16 inches long. It tasted delicious. Only issue is an aesthetic one: I would have liked more height out of the dough. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States