Decadent Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Moran Zukerman
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
It came out nicely (though I was thinking it might be too much olive oil!), thank you for sharing the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moran Zukerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was an OK recipe, but it really wasn't the sweet, eggy bread that I grew up eating. I tasted the olive oil more than anything else, really. I'm currently trying a new batch with 3 eggs plus one yolk and 1/2c honey, and halving the olive oil. I'm still not sure it'll have enough eggs or sweetness though - if not, I might think about cutting down on the water (which did seem excessive to me), and replacing it with another yolk and more honey. I'll update when I've had time to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe was my first attempt at Challah bread. Make sure you let it cool a little after final baking and wrap in plastic wrap. The next day it will have that soft challah bread texture that you know and love. Also make sure to braid like it says or it won't puff up as it should. We used this to make french toast the next day and it was awesome! Thank you for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The texture of the bread is perfect, but I wouldn't call this a "decadent" challah. It actually tastes very oily to me. Could use a hint more salt too. I'm going to try round two this evening and use canola oil instead to see if that makes a difference in the flavor. The egg wash is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this today and it is amazing. I'll be using it for dinner rolls as well as cinnamon buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe many times and it always turn out nicely. The bread has a great texture and is delicious alone or with poppyseeds or sesame seeds sprinkled on top after using an egg wash. I have made it with olive oil and replaced it with canola oil and could not tell a difference. I have not tried the glaze. I use my Kitchenaid stand mixer and let the dough hook knead for about 5 minutes. This bread makes wonderful French toast and Croque Monsieur sandwiches. I make it several times a month. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KootenayCookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just baked this (and ate 3 slices as soon as it was cool enough to slice). This is amazing! I've been using another challah recipe, but I think this is my new go to. I didn't have any honey, but I did have agave syrup and that worked great. I think this might turn in to my go-to dough for other things too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ben H.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was my first "made-from-scratch" bread and it turned out wounderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe is delicious and easy make. I substituted light agave nectar for the honey because that's what had available. I also watched YouTube videos on braiding the bread. My daughter thought it was the best stuff she has ever had !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved this recipe. Made it for the first time and followed the original recipe exactly and will definitely make it again. Used it for French toast this morning and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States