Decadent Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe was my first attempt at Challah bread. Make sure you let it cool a little after final baking and wrap in plastic wrap. The next day it will have that soft challah bread texture that you know and love. Also make sure to braid like it says or it won't puff up as it should. We used this to make french toast the next day and it was awesome! Thank you for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The texture of the bread is perfect, but I wouldn't call this a "decadent" challah. It actually tastes very oily to me. Could use a hint more salt too. I'm going to try round two this evening and use canola oil instead to see if that makes a difference in the flavor. The egg wash is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this today and it is amazing. I'll be using it for dinner rolls as well as cinnamon buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe many times and it always turn out nicely. The bread has a great texture and is delicious alone or with poppyseeds or sesame seeds sprinkled on top after using an egg wash. I have made it with olive oil and replaced it with canola oil and could not tell a difference. I have not tried the glaze. I use my Kitchenaid stand mixer and let the dough hook knead for about 5 minutes. This bread makes wonderful French toast and Croque Monsieur sandwiches. I make it several times a month. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just baked this (and ate 3 slices as soon as it was cool enough to slice). This is amazing! I've been using another challah recipe, but I think this is my new go to. I didn't have any honey, but I did have agave syrup and that worked great. I think this might turn in to my go-to dough for other things too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ben H.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was my first "made-from-scratch" bread and it turned out wounderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe is delicious and easy make. I substituted light agave nectar for the honey because that's what had available. I also watched YouTube videos on braiding the bread. My daughter thought it was the best stuff she has ever had !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved this recipe. Made it for the first time and followed the original recipe exactly and will definitely make it again. Used it for French toast this morning and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour which I find added an extra heartiness that worked very well with french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made one loaf as is and one with soaked raisins and cinnamon that I added in layers as I was kneading. My husband who is in recovery from cancer treatment and surgery was so impressed with how beautiful the braided loaves looked that he took a photo with his phone. He ate more bread tonight than he has eaten of anything in a long time. This is us-> :) (: I'm going to try one olive/rosemary and one almond/cranberry next time. Outstanding bread recipe- very simple to follow right down to the fancy braidwork which you made easy. Highly recommend to one and all. Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States