Decadent Challah Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made one loaf as is and one with soaked raisins and cinnamon that I added in layers as I was kneading. My husband who is in recovery from cancer treatment and surgery was so impressed with how beautiful the braided loaves looked that he took a photo with his phone. He ate more bread tonight than he has eaten of anything in a long time. This is us-> :) (: I'm going to try one olive/rosemary and one almond/cranberry next time. Outstanding bread recipe- very simple to follow right down to the fancy braidwork which you made easy. Highly recommend to one and all. Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was my first time making Challah bread, and it was so easy! We live in the Texas panhandle where the climate is very dry and cold (18 was the high the day I made the bread), so my bread wasn't as round and puffy as the original photo. However, the dough rose enough to make two beautiful large braids. My family loved it as well as our friends with whom we celebrated Shabbat. And I followed the recipe exactly as it was given; I also used unbleached bread flour. It was sweet, soft and delicious...will be making every Friday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out amazing! The instructions were easy to follow, and my family loved it. We don't have a bakery in our town where we can buy Challah. It's nice to know I can make it myself. And the glaze gave it such a sweet taste. I would definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a nice bread that made two nice sized loaves. I love a sweet, light challah, and I found the olive oil made the bread taste a little heavier than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was my first time making Challah bread - it was store quality - very good texture and the glaze was added a nice sweetness though i didn't need as much as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fabulous recipe! My husband ate one loaf the day I made it- so good! Takes a bit longer to make than stated but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I halved the recipe to make a single Challah. We like our Challah sweet so I substituted some of the olive oil for more honey, maintaining the overall olive oil+honey quantity. So if the recipe calls for 1/3 cup olive oil I used about 1/4 cup olive oil and the remainder honey (in addition to the honey already included in the recipe). The Challah turned out sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
wonderful wonderful great directions We love bread at our homewe will be sharing and using this recipe many times thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Ive made challah bread before and was disappointed with this one. I followed the recipe close and thought it wasn't eggy or sweet enough. I worked for Thanksgiving since it turned out to be a decent bread but definitely didn't wow anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have been on the hunt for a great Shabbat challah recipe for many years and this one is it! Beautiful flavor and texture. My family now forgoes the bakery bought challah on Friday nights. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States