Decadent Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made these YUMMY brownie bars today to bring to my families Christmas Eve party. They will NOT be a dissapointment. I made a couple changes. I added orange extract in place of the orange peel to give it a stronger orange taste about a tsp. And added about a 1/2 tsp. Or so of almond extract. I also substituted the butterscotch chips for white chocolate chips. My son do sent like coconut and my husband doesn't like white chocolate anything. They couldn't keep their hands off of them. This has now become one of my favorite bar recipes. Dried cranberries would add a festive touch to them and go fantastic with the orange and coconut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I would have to agree that the orange and butterscotch flavors just don't go together and maybe a white chocolate may be more compatible. Also, mine turned out very cakey rather than moist bar looking like in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These were okay. The orange, butterscotch combination just didn't go together for me very well. I think that these need a little orange extract to boost the orange flavor. I also think that white chips would be a better choice in these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This recipe is good except it's not wow. The orange flavour is excellent but it's still missing something. Mine almost was more of a cake than bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. Everytime I go home on leave, my family asks me to make it. Also, its a HUGE hit at potlucks. The only thing I changed was a added a splash of almond extract and a splash of vanilla extract. Like one of the other reviewers mentioned, I too made this recipe without shortening the first few times. I just put half butter and half vegetable oil. It worked like a charm and it was a little easier to mix than plain shortening alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalyea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I almost decided not to make this recipe. I only made it because it was quick. Wow. Very little work..but excellent results. It was delicious and great for a picnic or cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frenchgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
...Wow! these have an amazing, "addictive" flavor, said my husband. Very moist, sweet but not too sweet, maybe a little bit cakey, but I might have overmixed the batter. I didn't have all the ingredients so I had to change a few things, but I guess I got lucky because they were delicious! I had no shortening so I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup of half vegetable oil, half whipping cream. Used sliced almonds instead of butterscotch chips and included 1/4 cup powdered almonds (removed 1/4 cup flour). Baked 23 minutes. I love how the orange, coconut and almond flavors blended together, the result smelled and tasted quite delicate and refined. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
These are excellent. They reminded me of my aunt's orange cookies. And I have to agree after eating 1/4 of the pan...you can't eat just one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
I have used this recipe three times now. I find it easy, quick and delicious. It is a great recipe to take for potluck gatherings and any place where you might wish to donate food--bake sales, funeral receptions, etc. It travels well. It's not real fancy but tastes delicious and the absence of a rich frosting or topping appeals to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States