Deb's Spicy Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe although I don't think it would taste very good with only 1 tsp of curry paste. I did marinate the meat in red curry paste and minced garlic for 24 hours. We added our own assortment of veggies(peppers, onion, scallions, mushrooms, water chestnuts, and baby corn) and added 2 tbls of curry paste instead of 1 tsp. We made the sauce as directed except for the extra curry paste. We loved the sauce and I think anything would be good in this sauce. Love the way the cilantro adds flavor to the dish. Was very nervous to add it but so glad I tried it as it was fabulous. My children loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smylies
Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This recipe is great and very straight-forward. Depending how thick you slice the beef (against the grain of course), it may need less time in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Delicious, quick and uncomplicated dish! I was surprised at how good this was. I made it with out zucchini since I did not have any. Like another reviewer, I used some orange and yellow bell pepper. IMO, it was probably a better choice. I recommend increasing the red curry paste to 1 T. It is the star of the dish and is the basis of the flavors. DO NOT SKIP THE FISH SAUCE. It adds depth and balance. If you cannot find it, substitute some anchovy paste. I did not have any cilantro, but hubs does not care for it anyway. The lime zest at the end, paired with a squeeze of lime juice at serving time adds a beautiful finish. My side was Jasmine rice cooked in the remainder of the chicken broth I used for the curry. Next time I may serve this over cellophane noodles or udon noodles. Thanks Deb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a very tasty beef curry! I made it according to the directions. I had to order the fish sauce online, because my local grocery store doesn't carry it. I served it over jasmine rice that I cooked in a microwave oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I tend to use a lot more of the red curry paste (half a jar)....and I add cornstarch at the end to thicken it up (3 or 4 tablespoons). I also add yellow squash or broccoli with the zucchini. My boyfriend requests this at least once a week. Its a huge it! Love, love, love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Really tasty! I used venison cube steak because my husband and I are always looking for new ways to cook all of his deer meat. Also, I left out the fish sauce because it only called for one Tbs and I could not find it in the grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doublemint

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Fabulous! I used orange pepper instead of zucchini for colour and upped the red curry to 4 tsps and with the coconut milk it was perfect heat. Loved the lime zest! I used about a half cup more of chicken broth so it was more saucy and put the mixture over vermichelli rice noodles. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSylvia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Recipe was ok but seemed very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike in the Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Thanks Debola for this recipe. It was very tasty and zucchini is perfect for this dish. Like you say, be sure and have everything cut up and ready before starting as this dish comes together rather quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent taste and combination of flavor! I was skeptical of the cilantro and lime, but it was perfect! I added red peppers and potato as we don't like zucchini and I can't believe how well it came out! Will make again! Thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States