Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very, very good. We added a crushed, small clove of garlic to the butter and sauteed for a few minutes before adding the flour for the roux. Also added the spinach to the cream sauce and let cook for a couple minutes. Only used about a teaspoon of old bay and a scant 1/4 cup of an 'italian cheese blend' in the topping, mixing together with the bread crumbs and parmesan before sprinkling over the scallops. Baked for 30 minutes and we had a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Added in sliced fresh mushrooms, and used fresh spinach, and didn't use the mozzarella cheese. It made a nice meal just on the stove top without the additional baking, the sauce was great. Served over linguine noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
DEEEEE-LICIOUS! Total hit with hubby. As other reviewers suggested, I did not cook my scallops ahead of time. And I used fresh spinach and upped the amount to a whole bag (12 oz i think). Cooked the spinach in the cream sauce, poured it over the scallops and topped with cheese and breadcrumbs. Next time, I think I'll reduce the amount of breadcrumbs. And I cut the mozzarella cheese out too. Didn't miss it a bit. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes and it was perfect. Though I did need to broil it the last 5 to get the top to brown a bit. Thanks Ponygirl for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was an amazingly simple, quick and easy recipe to make and tasted delicious. My husband thought I slaved for hours. Another idea I used this for was for a cheesy FONDUE dip. I left out the spinach and added sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese while melting and was a hit! Everyone absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danika Shipman
Home Town: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I read other members' alterations to the recipe, and I took them into consideration when I made this for New Year's eve. I did not pre-cook the scallops, and I used fresh spinach. I replaced the cream with half and half. I removed the mozzarella, replaced plain bread crumbs with Italian ones, and used half of the old bay. Overall, the recipe was very good! The scallops came out perfectly. My only complaint was that between the bread crumbs and the reduced old bay, it was still too salty. I would use half a teaspoon of old bay the next time I make it. But, we really liked this and will be using it with other seafoods in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Good way to get spinach into the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Loved it! I made a few adjustments as recommended by previous reviews. I didn't pre-cook the scallops and they turned out perfectly. Very tender. I used fresh spinach and salt and pepper only for seasonings. Finally, I substituted milk for the cream and it was still very rich. This is a quick and super simple dish. nice for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
The florentine was very good.....was not crazy about the way the scallops were cooked......I think next time I might grill or bake them first :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Oh my god amazing! I made this for my boyfriend for dinner and we both LOVED it. I'm not the most experienced cook, but it was very easy with simple ingredients that made it full of flavor. I recommend using fresh Italian mozzarella (I used Bel Gioioso brand from Publix. They come pre-sliced and I placed them on top before the crumbs. Delicious!) Also, I used fresh Spinach instead of the frozen kind. Definitely made a difference. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States