Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Who would think something so simple could be so good. I used fresh spinach and it was delicious. I would have no fear of frozen though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Excellent! I made it just as described, and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Perhaps is the cheeses and Bay seasoning had been blended together it might not have been so bad...but individually sprinkled on top was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
My husband absolutely raved about this. It was very simple to make too. I like the other reviewer's suggestion to add shrimp as well and I may try that next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Not only did I think this recipe was amazing, but so did both my parents! I followed the direction of others and didn't boil the scallops before putting the scallops in the baking dish...this made for a longer baking time. In order to save some calories I used fat free half and half which worked beautifully. I also used some skim mozzerella when making the cheese sauce along with the required parmesean. I served this over angel hair pasta with a side of garlic bread! Leftovers the next day were just as good if not better!! can't wait to make again for Mother's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Way too salty! I am not a regular user of Old Bay Seasoning and after I made the dish, I read the first ingredient of Old Bay was celery salt. I barely added any salt to the recipe since the cheese was salty enough. I liked everything but the saltiness, so when I make it again, will cut way back on the Old Bay and add no salt whatsoever. The first time I make a recipe I make no substitutions and so I followed this recipe exactly. It has possibilities, liked the combination of scallops and spinach, but the salt took most of the enjoyment out of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was really good! I did make my own adjustments though. I took the advice of others and did not poach the scallops, just put them in the sauce and cooked for 25minutes. I also combined half shrimp and half scallops. I used Asiago cheese as that is our preference rather than the Parmesan cheese. I left out the mozerella this time but I think I will try it next time around. I also used fresh spinach since I never buy frozen. I added some chopped brown mushrooms and artichoke hearts. I omitted the old bay and instead used some garlic, onion, pepper and salt as well as a tiny dash of paprika and the dish came out beautifully! even my daughter who says she hates mushrooms AND cooked spinach all the time said she loved it. I will be making this again this Sunday with the mozerella cheese added and see which we prefer. I served this over a bed of penne pasta.Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was excellent. Like many reviewers, I didn't bother pre-cooking the scallops. I also used fresh spinach steamed briefly in the micro and then combining it with the sauce. I left out the mozzarella as I didn't have any and used Asiago instead (-highly recommend!). My biggest diversion came when I was called away right before putting the bread crumbs on top and putting it in the oven. I covered it with tin foil, put it in the 'fridge and hoped for the best. When I got home 2 hrs. later, I finished it off and baked it. (Scallops are too expensive to waste!) To my surprise it tasted wonderful! Thanks so much for the recipe PONYGIRL64. Maybe next time I can do it correctly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A fantastic recipe! Although I am usually critical of reviews by those who changed the recipe, I am now guilty of doing the same. Boiling the scallops in advance is a major mistake. Scallops are incredibly delicate and are ruined by overcooking. Baking the casserole is plenty of time to cook them fully; any additional cooking from boiling will make them tough and less flavorful. In fact, rinsing them first would also be a big mistake, washing away much of the flavor. I also added fresh mushrooms and sherry, although the recipe is delicious and worthy of 5 stars without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was very good and impressive. A great dish for when you need to make a good impression. I did feel like the parmesan sauce was a little bland so I'll add more seasoning the next time I make it. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States