Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Don't precook the scallops. I used fat-free half & half, and added about a tsp of low-sodium Old Bay to the sauce. I think a little Cajun or Creole seasoning might be substituted for the Old Bay. I also added the spinach to the sauce. I skipped the mozzarella, and used panko with a little parm as a topping. I also spritzed it with a little olive oil, and sprinkled a littled paprika on it for color. 20 minutes cooked it perfectly. I think I might use some shucked oysters, cook for about 10 minutes, and have a faux oysters Rockefeller casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Very good. I used half and half instead of the cream and also skipped the step of boiling the scallops as I read in other reviews. Took someone else's tip of making lemon thyme rice from this website and it paired perfectly. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Excellent recipe. The use of fresh spinach really brings out the great flavors of the scallop and cheese combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Oooooh this was delicious! I made a few changes...1) Did not boil the scallops first 2) Used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the heavy cream 3) Seasoned with garlic and onion powder 4) Used fresh spinach - added it to the liquid so it cooked down 5) Added the mozzarella to the liquid so it cooked into the sauce 6) After covering the scallops with the sauce I sprinkled with parmesan and and Italian bread crumbs, omitting the Old Bay 7) Baked for 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Just made this, had some scallops and was tired of just broiling or baking. So easy and delicious! I used 2% milk for the sauce and it came out just fine. Definitely would make this for a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My husband loved it - kids liked it too. I'd go heavier on the Old bay next time - add some to the cream sauce. Served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!! Made this for company. Hubby said it was the best scallop dish I ever made. Elegant and delicious. Followed other's leads and did not parboil the scallops. Also used fresh spinach (sauteed in evoo and garlic) and gruyere cheese. Doubled the recipe and baked for 25-30 minutes. It is a must try if you want something fancy for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wow, tons of reviews so I'll be brief. I used fresh spinach wilted just a minute in the micro. No Old Bay per other reviews (although I think a t. not a T. would be good) and did not precook the scallops. Also, I sauteed a bit of garlic in the butter before making the white sauce and added a T. of Chardonnay to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
If I could give this more stars I would. DH states that it was "wicked good". Made this last night for the first time and it will not be the last. Did not pre-boil the scallops as others stated and I only used 1/2 the old bay seasoning. Searved it over lemon thyme rice and had roasted honey carots on the side ( both from this site) with a crusty slice of garlic texas toast. Perfect. Thank you Ponygirl64 for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was very good but next time I will play around with it a little as we found it a tad too bland and a touch too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States