Deb's Scallops Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was an amazingly simple, quick and easy recipe to make and tasted delicious. My husband thought I slaved for hours. Another idea I used this for was for a cheesy FONDUE dip. I left out the spinach and added sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese while melting and was a hit! Everyone absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danika Shipman
Home Town: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I read other members' alterations to the recipe, and I took them into consideration when I made this for New Year's eve. I did not pre-cook the scallops, and I used fresh spinach. I replaced the cream with half and half. I removed the mozzarella, replaced plain bread crumbs with Italian ones, and used half of the old bay. Overall, the recipe was very good! The scallops came out perfectly. My only complaint was that between the bread crumbs and the reduced old bay, it was still too salty. I would use half a teaspoon of old bay the next time I make it. But, we really liked this and will be using it with other seafoods in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Good way to get spinach into the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Loved it! I made a few adjustments as recommended by previous reviews. I didn't pre-cook the scallops and they turned out perfectly. Very tender. I used fresh spinach and salt and pepper only for seasonings. Finally, I substituted milk for the cream and it was still very rich. This is a quick and super simple dish. nice for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
The florentine was very good.....was not crazy about the way the scallops were cooked......I think next time I might grill or bake them first :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Oh my god amazing! I made this for my boyfriend for dinner and we both LOVED it. I'm not the most experienced cook, but it was very easy with simple ingredients that made it full of flavor. I recommend using fresh Italian mozzarella (I used Bel Gioioso brand from Publix. They come pre-sliced and I placed them on top before the crumbs. Delicious!) Also, I used fresh Spinach instead of the frozen kind. Definitely made a difference. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Oh my, these are good! I prefer bay scallops and often add small to medium shrimp to the dish - I have never been dissapointed. I also generally use half and half to save a few calories. A nice salad with a light dressing on the side usually makes the guilt go away. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
vERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I guess I am the exception, but I did not care for this. Way too salty between the salt, cheese, and Old Bay. I used fresh spinach but otherwise made no changes. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Like everyone else, I had to fiddle with this recipe (don't we all in one way or another) because I prefer garlic to old bay. After a trip to the farmer's market, I ended up using fresh spinach as well as asparagus tips just because I had them. I had garlic-spinach fettuccine with this to round out the meal. Delicious! Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States