Deb's Mac Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Good & simple recipe for those last-minute preparations to bring to a gathering- if need be. I added celery and broccoli (didn't have green peppers), extra Ranch dressing, salt, black pepper, and celery salt. Still a little bland, although good. Perhaps adding a dry Ranch packet would help with flavor. Thanks for the recipe! It was great cuz I didn't have to run to the store for any ingredients. I had everything in the house already. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This is a FANTASTIC recipe, for when you don't have the TRADIONAL ingredients that a lot of mac salads call for such as celery and radishes. My son LOVES it and he is not big on pasta salads. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe. Its tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very good recipe. Didn't seem to have a lot of flavor though. I added some fresh tomatoes and cucumbers and a dash of Tony Chacheres creole seasoning and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoeTheBaker
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is a good starting point, but the recipe as is needs some adjustment. I found that the macaroni required more mayo/dressing that was called for to be of the right consistency. Also, rather than using regular onion which overwhelms the dish, green onions or chives would be a better choice. My personal preference is to leave the onions out completely, and add garlic powder, dill, and crumbled bacon and use three cheese ranch as the dressing of choice. Other good toss-ins would be: mustard, pickle relish, cubed ham, peas, diced turkey or chicken, snow peas, sesame seeds, cherry tomatoes, or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
love it, :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by its me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
My husband love's it. And it was a hit at my job. And i like it to. And is very easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Fast, easy recipe!! Made in morning and left in fridge to be cold enough for dinner. Added more dressing as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
My family really loved the tangy flavor the ranch dressing gave this recipe. I added onions and bacon bits for an extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This was kinda funky- the ranch was too strong, and it could have used less onion. Maybe I'll try it again with a more mild onion- the flavors just didn't mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This is a good recipe, I doubled it and I found that I did not have the ranch dressing but I had the dry ranch dressing mix and sprinkled it on, and I added a bit more mayo, and a tsp of milk and it was great! Second time, I added some extra vegtables, like small broccoli flowrettes(just the tiny ends) and defrosted frozen english peas.Yummy! This is a keeper recipe, thnks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States