Deb's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Tried making this dish for the first time ever. It was extreamly easy to make and my family absolutely loved it. Think I will double it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was really good. Very tasty. Not quite how the restaurants make it but that may have been an error on my part. I didn't have the dried chili peppers so I also used about 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes. I would have liked it a bit spicier so next time I may add another 1/4 tsp or so. As I crisped up the chicken in my wok I thought I would add the sauce straight to the chicken as it was finishing up. Bad idea! It was fine when it was hot but as it started cooling off it turned to the consistency of taffy. Very sticky on the teeth! Luckily I had only put a little bit of the sauce in there, otherwise it would have been ruined. Be sure to follow the directions and put the sauce on AFTER. I also like using the chicken thighs as opposed to breasts. I think breast meat would have easily overcooked, as you are basically cooking it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was very good. I used crushed red pepper flakes instead of the chilies. I was yummy! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
If you want it like the take out (or like my hometowns take out)...... Use Non-Dried Red Peppers, and make sure you cut em to get the seeds all in your sauce..... Also throw some of the juices from your peppers in everything.... Cut the sugar down a lot.. if you use as much as this recipe calls for you're gonna end up with a caramel mess...when it says thicken up (sauce)... I hear Wait for it to start getting bubbled but too much bubble= hard sugary caramel.. good for coating not so good for wet and saucy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This recipe is better than I have ever had. I substituted the Sherry for water, because we don't carry it here. It was an awesome recipe and I have made it for friends several times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEJONES159

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
On a whim I decided to try this recipie. We were going to a party and I was asked to bring something a little spicy. The recipe is easy to follow, it's not hard to make... And honestly... the plate sat on the table for no more than five minutes and it was gone. I made a few small changes as I've remade it again and again (I'm not allowed to being anything other than these now). I cube the chicken the night before and let it soak in some hot sauce. When I'm making it, I use the batter exactly as stated in the recipie. And with the sauce? I almost double the chillies. Instead of using a wok and thickening the sauce, I just take the chicken, once it's all cooked and pour the sauce over it, tossing the chicken and the sauce in a bowl until it's well coated and then drain off the liquid keeping as many of the chilies as I can. Set it on a platter and away we go. I've never seen an appetizer go quite as fast as these do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This recipe is awesome. Only problem I had is the sauce did not thicken in said time, I kept going much longer, eventually added corn starch slurry to thicken before serving. still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaycie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mehmet Karaca
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Wow. I did not expect this recipe to turn out this good. Perfect end result despite the fact I substituted bourbon for sherry, regular vinegar for rice vinegar, etc. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Bravo! Very tasty. Also try with a little orange juice & skip the sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States