Deb's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was very good. I used crushed red pepper flakes instead of the chilies. I was yummy! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Tried making this dish for the first time ever. It was extreamly easy to make and my family absolutely loved it. Think I will double it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was really good. Very tasty. Not quite how the restaurants make it but that may have been an error on my part. I didn't have the dried chili peppers so I also used about 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes. I would have liked it a bit spicier so next time I may add another 1/4 tsp or so. As I crisped up the chicken in my wok I thought I would add the sauce straight to the chicken as it was finishing up. Bad idea! It was fine when it was hot but as it started cooling off it turned to the consistency of taffy. Very sticky on the teeth! Luckily I had only put a little bit of the sauce in there, otherwise it would have been ruined. Be sure to follow the directions and put the sauce on AFTER. I also like using the chicken thighs as opposed to breasts. I think breast meat would have easily overcooked, as you are basically cooking it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Made exactly as written except used dried ginger in the sauce. This has great taste, I only wish my sauce turned out thicker and maybe a little spicier too. Definitely going to make this again with maybe some slight changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was not that good. I have used other recipes for general tso's which is my all time fav. Chinese dish. This one had to be the worst. My husband said it reminded him of cotton candy. The batter for the chicken wasn't much more then scrambled egg coated chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoytville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Wow! This was incredible! We are saying goodbye to our favorite Chinese restaurant, because now we can make our favorite dish at home for MUCH less money! Thank you SO much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern~/~Dragonfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was some really great chicken! I loved it! I used egg substitute in place of eggs, and only fried my chicken in just enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan (less than 1/2 cup total). I used half the sugar called for, so the sauce didn't thicken as much, but I don't like things super sweet. After the chicken was done, I discarded all but a little bit of the oil, cooked the ginger and hot pepper flakes (IPO chilies) in the same pan, and just poured over the chicken, which was being kept warm. Served over rice with a sprinkling of sesame seeds. This was an easy quick dinner as good as you'd get in a Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Ok, this was a confusing outcome for us. If we were thinking of this as General Tsao's chicken, it did not rate that good. As a honey chicken or something, it was pretty good. It is VERY sweet. The General Tsao's we get at the local chinese place just has a hint of sweet, and lots of kick. With this recipe, I personally thought it tastes like pancake syrup. For some reason, my sauce would not thicken up at all. I only used 6 dried peppers, but threw in some pepper flakes, and it was not spicy at all unless you happened to eat part of the chili. I followed the execution to the letter. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
If you want it like the take out (or like my hometowns take out)...... Use Non-Dried Red Peppers, and make sure you cut em to get the seeds all in your sauce..... Also throw some of the juices from your peppers in everything.... Cut the sugar down a lot.. if you use as much as this recipe calls for you're gonna end up with a caramel mess...when it says thicken up (sauce)... I hear Wait for it to start getting bubbled but too much bubble= hard sugary caramel.. good for coating not so good for wet and saucy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This recipe is better than I have ever had. I substituted the Sherry for water, because we don't carry it here. It was an awesome recipe and I have made it for friends several times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEJONES159

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States