Deb's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I use this as the base for my General Tsaos. The ratio of vinegars, sherry and soy works very well. For the love of god do not even think about putting as much sugar in as she does. I use about 20% of the sugar (sweeten to taste) and then thicken it with cornstarch. The only other change I make is to put diced ginger in the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Overall, I liked the result, but the sauce was thin until we added more sugar and a some cornstarch to thicken it. The additional time let the flavors of the peppers, garlic and ginger brighten and strengthen, so that with an extra splash of soy sauce. In the future, I'll change the order of preparation. I'm thinking of simmering the vegetables in the soy, sherry, and vinegar while I'm frying the chicken, then add the sugar (double the recommended amount) as my final step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was awesome!!! I just finished cooking it and my family loved it!! I didn't use a lot of peppers but apparently they would have preferred if I used none at all.....next time I'll make sauce with and without peppers (I like them). But I will definetly make this again. No more chinese take out for me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Five stars for the sauce, 3 stars for the battered chicken. I didn't love the egg in the batter. The sauce was great, though a person could probably cut the sugar by 1/4 c. and be fine. I hate cornstarched, gummy sauces, so I like this version. If you like thicker sauce, of course you can add a little cornstarch, but I wouldn't overdo it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this was so very good. I made this for my grandson's birthday dinner because he wanted chinese food but I couldn't afford to take 7 people out to dinner so I decided to try this. I was really surprised at how good it was. It had way more flavor than me local restaurant has. I omitted the sherry and used chopped peppers and it was yummy. I would definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
OMGOODNESS!! this sauce is amazing!! i just used frozen already breaded chicken strips instead of what the recipe called for but the star of this show was the sauce!!!! Its so delish!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! My whole family - including 2 young boys LOVED it! I omitted the chilies and poured a little more than half of the sauce over the chicken in the pan at the end while frying up the chicken and it caramelized the sugar and was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
AWESOME! Made the sauce only to compliment some leftover sesame chicken from the night before. Added some hoisin and garlic sauce with a hint of cornstarch to thicken. Dropped the leftover sesame chicken (previously deep fried) in the sauce, stir fried.....made a lovely glaze. Served with fried rice...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice B.
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used fresh chili peppers. I kept the pepper out of the kids batch and the adults had peppers (that I split open) and some dry pepper flakes... sweet, spicy goodness!! I will make this once a week and so much more cheaper than take out and you can make it as crispy as you want it and as spicy as you like it!! Love it! My family loves it too!! I like that you can fry it in advance and then fry it a second time later because it is time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe was quick and easy to make. My husband loves it when I make this. The only problem that I had was that it was not spicy enough. I had to use quite a bit of red pepper flakes and even then it still lacked a little bit of the spice that most restaurant quality General Tso's has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryW.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, New York, USA
Living In: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States