Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made it exactly as written. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Ashley
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very thick and meaty chili. Fabulous as is, or thinned with 1 can of petite diced tomatoes. I also prefer to add 1/2 - 1 t. cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Burnett Mandrona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Followed recipe as written and doubled it! Made this for a neighborhood chili cookoff and, true to the claims, it took 1st place! Everyone loved it! Best part - I had never made chili before! Will definitely keep this on my list of favorites - and it was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Yes wonderful, husband ate it all! Doubling that batch used chili beans though instead of kidney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This makes a great base chili -- the balanced flavor stands well on its own, but also leaves plenty of room to grow for those who like to add more heat or spice. There are a lot of good chili recipes on this site; this one earns its stars not just for its taste, but its simplicity. You won't find a better batch of chili that can be made so quickly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Oh my gosh this is good! I was worried at first because of the salsa but as it simmered over low heat the flavors came together! This is a chili I will make from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Absolutely loved this chili, as did my family and guests! One reviewer said it tasted too much like tomatos, and if thats the case then you didn't add enough chili seasoning (please note thats not chili powder. I used Chili Seasoning II here on all recipes). Only change I made was I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I blended up some stewed tomatos and Rotale together and it was perfect. My wife who can't handle much spice also loved this chili as it was just fantastic, and not too spicey (though red chili peppers and jalapenos could fix that fast!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I've been looking for a really good chili recipe for some time and I finally found it! This IS the EASIEST and BEST tasting chili I've made yet!! I followed the recipe except for a few changes, I added diced green pepper with the ground beef and onion. And as many suggested I added one large can of crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I also added one can of DelMonte diced tomatoes (garlic & onion with the liquid). I did use "Williams Original Chili seasoning" (found it on line), and "Pace" medium salsa. The only thing that wasn't clear to me in this recipe is if I should drain the beans or not. I decided to drain most of the liquid off before adding the beans. This recipe has been added to my favorite, and I will definitely be making it again and again. My search is over THANK YOU Deb!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is a good idea... However I found that the bottled salsa left me with watery jous. You have nailed the consistency of the meat however I would suggest not cooking down the salsa. TOMATO are still a fit that should be treated very delicately so don't allow it to break down too much or you will lose the nutritional and sweetness factors in your dish. IT WILL BREAK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendrah Liddell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
OK- Very simple to make. Next time I will try a different salsa- one with some spice. Hubby thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,012) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States