Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
excellent chili-everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I am giving this 5 stars because the salsa is pure GENIUS! I added onions, peppers,celery,and plenty of extra seasonings in addition to the whole packet of chili seasoning (like I always do) and almost a whole jar of Pace salsa (which I have NEVER done.) Then, I won the chili cook-off at our local country club yesterday! Who doesn't love salsa? And, I think the vinegar in the salsa gave it just enough zing to be interesting and stand out a tad, while still being traditional chili. Thanks, Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
My family loves this recipe!! I'm a mom to a family of boys - picky eaters who love good food. This receipe is simple and great. It's crockpot friendly. We make it camping and love it for football games. It takes all the fuss out of delicious chili. I make a ton and freeze it for taco salads, stuffed potatoes etc. Happy eating and thank you Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
LOVED this recipe! I had all the ingredients except minced garlic (used garlic powder) and the chili seasoning mix (so I made my own from a recipe off this site : Chili Seasoning Mix II). Would never have considered adding JARRED salsa to a homemade chili, and I have no idea what it's impact is/was, but this chili was fan-effing-fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
My family loves this. Sometimes I taste a little too much of the sauce, depending on the brand, so I cut back on it, but only a little bit. We also add extra beans to make it last a little bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
OMG.....just tried this for dinner.....yummy....the best chili I have ever made and the easiest!!! Only change was to use a whole chopped onion.....this will go in my regular rotations. Thank you so much Deb for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Super easy to make and a big hit at a family gathering. People were scraping the bottom of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the second time I made this basic chili for a competition and the second time I won. I did make my own customizations to the recipe but I think it would have won anyway without my changes. I added 3 cloves crushed garlic to beef/onion mix. I used diced tomatoes instead of sauce to make a chunky chili. I used 4 cans of the diced tomatoes and 2 cans diced green chilies. I used two cans of pinto beans and 1 can of red kidney beans. I made my own chili mix from a recipe on this site. I added 2-4 T of maple syrup (I don't like sugar) which I think is important to cut the acid flavor in the tomatoes and I used 2 jars of salsa, one mild and one medium. I added salt as needed, and it was needed. This filled my 6 quart crockpot. One hour before the end of cooking time I added three diced bell peppers, one red, one yellow and one orange. This makes it look beautiful and adds that winning touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very easy and very tasty. I put all the ingredients except for the meat and onions into the crock pot. Then, I started cooking the meat and onions. Once they were done, I drained them and added them to the crock pot. Turned out great...there wasn't any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
It's good and super easy. I may add more beans and a little more heat since it's pretty mild. In addition, when I serve it tonight I'll sprinkle raw onions, a little shredded sharp cheddar cheese and some avocado on top to ratch up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States