Death by Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Thank you for this fabulous recipe! I make it a lot for potlucks or gatherings and it is ALWAYS a hit. I have made this recipe exactly as stated and also changed it up a bit. Instead of German chocolate, I use brownies and omit the coffee entirely. I found with the German chocolate, it is a little too light for me and prefer something a little more decadent. It is so easy to make alterations and variations, but I always look to this recipe for the basics. If you haven't tried this, it is a guaranteed hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Although it is a great dessert, I would change a bunch of things. It wasn't very flavorful with the German chocolate cake. I would go with chocolate fudge cake next time. I would also do 2 boxes of pudding, one was just not close to enough. And I would use a chocolate fudge pudding rather than just chocolate. Also I used a 8 oz. container of cool whip, there is no such thing as a 12 oz. container. And I don't know what the 1 1/2 cup of milk is for in the recipe, you use 2 cups for the pudding and that's all the milk you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was my first trifle and it was a smashing success! So tasty and so easy to make! Love the recipe and will be used a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I had to bring a gluten-free dessert to a potluck event and I had no idea what to do. Finally I settled on this recipe because I could use a gluten-free chocolate cake mix and not have to alter the rest of it. People LOVED IT. My only comment is that, when I made in a 9x13 pan, I definitely needed more pudding and more whipped topping. Luckily, I had the larger size box of Jello pudding in the cupboard anyway (and had just anticipated leftovers), plus I had decided to whip some cream in the mixer and then add in the cool whip. So I had more than the amount called for in that case. Not sure how other people managed to spread pudding over cake but my bright idea of keeping it in the fridge until I needed it meant it was super solid and a little bit difficult. I actually forgot the coffee for the second layer until after I put the pudding in and then it was easier to work with! I was running late and only refrigerated it all for about 45 min before I brought it. No worries at all. I did put the cake in the fridge after it came out of the oven to expedite cooling. It was really good and not too sweet/rich for my fiance who doesn't like desserts very much. If you want it to really be 'death by chocolate' though I think it needs a middle layer of some fudge sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is the same recipe I use all the time. I have served it with fresh fruit and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTRKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have made this for years and it is always excellant. I do use brownies instead of cake. I also use 2 packages of pudding and 2 containers of cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love the versatility of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Used a Duncan Hines Decadent Triple Chocolate cake mix---it had fudge in the mix and really added an extra rich touch!!! Also used Kahlua instead of coffee and real whipped cream instead of cool whip. Tasted great with the toffee but even better for the candy bar was Reeses NutRageous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wonderful recipe I made for our Christmas dinner that got rave reviews! Few changes..I used Kahlua and coffee and no chocolate pudding so I used oreo cookies and cream..wonderful color contrast! Reeses cups chopped with toffee bits..that what I had on hand....and what the heck I added a can of cherry pie filling to the center for a black forrest taste! Awesome..next time I want to try the crushed Whopper thing...thanks for sharing all the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyg35

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States