Death by Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and only made the mousse part, and served in painted martini glasses (for our family BD dinner for my son). We all loved this, and yes it is rich. The food processor method is easy. Thanks for sharing a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Delicious and decadent.......I just made the mousse and placed it in martini glasses.....added some strawberries and the whipped cream. Elegant presentation and divine taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Yum, this is so decadent and delicious. I used a prepared chocolate crust, and had enough mousse left over to fill four parfait cups. I actually preferred the mousse on it's own, but the pie topped with whipped cream (and chocolate shavings!) was pretty darn good too. This is incredibly rich, so some people had a hard time finishing their pie. I used the food processor method, and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Made this for a fundraiser and got rave reviews. Followed another reviewer's tip to add 1 tsp. instant coffee to deepen the flavor even more. Skipped the oreo crust and used a ziploc bag to pipe the mousse into dessert cups (1 recipe makes 12 small portions). Let them set overnight, then topped with whipped cream and mint shortbread leaves just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is so rich. About a quarter of an inch slice is about as much as anyone could eat at once. Next time I am going to try a semi sweet, milk chocolate mixture. Or even all milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Amazing amazing amazing!!!! I have made this 3 times already and I (and everyone else) love it! The chocolate does make a big difference on the end result. I was surprised that the kroger brand belgian chocolate chips were better than the ghiradelli. The last time I made it, I bought little mason jars and put a thin layer of crushed oreos in the bottom. I put the mousse on top, chilled them then put a little whipped topping and a pinch of dark chocolate shavings on top. It was a huge hit and they looked beautiful. This is my favorite dessert recipe by far, THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Very delicious! I made it for my dad for Father's Day. I cut him a tiny piece for dessert, and he said "that's all I get?!" I told him he could have more afterwards... He barely finished his slice. I asked him if he wanted more, and he sheepishly said no. It is a VERY rich cake, so it will serve many people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this recipe as is, but didn't add any cream to the top of the cake. This is a wonderfully rich and delicious cake and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Excellent. These adaptations might help another Indian cook. For the base I used hide and seek - about 12 cookies was enough. I used choc chips from Nilgris and they tasted fine. I used Amul cream, but took a long while to whip. I used 3 cartons - one for melting and two for whipping to mix. I omitted the last cup for decoration - thought I will buy whipped cream in a can but didn't do that also in the end. I added a t-spoon of instant coffee to the chips while melting. Melted in the microwave.. melted in about 90 secs on high. Though it was a little wobbly when I put it in the fridge, it firmed up nicely when chilled. I put it in the fridge for 3 days before using it and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Fabulous! Made this for my husband for Father's Day and he loved it, along with my MIL, and 9yo daughter and niece and nephew. I don't have a springform pan, so I used a square glass pan and it worked just fine. I also don't have a double boiler so I melted the chocolate in the microwave, 1 min on high, stir, then 30 seconds on 50%, stir after each 30 seconds until mixture is blended. Then follow rest of directions. Very easy to make. I will definitely make this agin and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States