Death by Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Holy cow this was good. Made this for party yesterday and the whole thing was gobbled up. I think the addition of whipped cream on top is necessary when using semi-sweet chocolate. I took the advcie of another reviewer and used pie crust instead of cookie crust and loved that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is my favorite dessert to bring to parties! It's easy and so, so good. I get compliments every time! At Christmas time, I like to add a couple of teaspoons of peppermint extract to the whipped cream that tops the pie and sprinkle crushed peppermint candies on top. I also use this chocolate mousse to fill and top cakes and other desserts, or just by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
slightly bitter for my taste which is probably explained because I added 1/4 cup of french roast coffee. but this tasted amazing paired with whipped cream and strawberries. with out the toppings though I would add a bit more sugar. I also used confectioner's sugar as recommended and got very smooth mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this as is and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Fantastic! I will probably make it in a 13x9 pan next time instead of a springform pan so I can cut it into smaller squares. I don't normally make my own cookie crusts but I had the Oreos so I made it in the food processor and kept it coarse - came out great. I used Ghirardelli chocolate. I used the second method for #3 but will probably make it in the microwave next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was too easy to be so delicious! I love chocolate and this had the perfect amount of flavor and richness for me (and everyone who tried it!). I made a homemade graham cracker pie crust instead of using a chocolate one as I thought that might be too much for our guests. The amount of chocolate filling was enough to fill 2 9-inch pie pans so I may cut the recipe in half next time. I did not have a double broiler so I just melted the chocolate in a pan on low heat and that worked great. The smooth, creamy texture just makes you want to savor every bite! This will be my go-to chocolate pie from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Super easy (I used the microwave for the heavy cream and choc. chips) and tastes delicious! I made in a pie pan and had some leftover mousse for the family members that have to eat gluten free. It was a hit with the kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Really delicious. I did as another reviewer suggested and baked a chocolate cake (I used chocolate oil cake on this site) as a base and layered the mousse on top. Really good, and looked very impressive! Really rich though; next time I'm going to bring it to somebody else's house to they can take care of the inevitable leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
So easy to make ! I made it for new years and didn't change a thing .. All I can say is WOW!! This was phenomenal! I'll Def make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States