Death by Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
When I make this I use bittersweet chocolate and also make a second ganache to use as a layer on top of the mousse. Then I spread the whipped cream over the top of the ganache layer. Everyone loves it and it was requested by my friend months ago that I make it for his birthday in December.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was GREAT! I followed the recipe exactly, except I made a dozen 4 oz. cups lined with lady fingers. This recipe will make exactly a dozen, filled with mousse almost to the brim. I got the glass dishes at the Dollar Tree store (4 4-oz. dishes per pack - 25 cents each!). Lady fingers come in a flat of 12. They're already split lengthwise so I used one whole lady finger for each dish. I placed a half lady finger on the bottom and the other half I broke in half again (the short way) and propped each half against the half at the bottom. The completed mix pours nicely into the dishes and settles cleanly around the lady finger. The lady fingers don't absorb the mousse and will hold up, providing an added not-too-sweet texture to the dessert. Also, I was short on time. I put the melted-chip mixture in the freezer and stirred often, until it got to room temp. The beaten cream folded in nicely. Once the mousse was poured into the dishes, I placed them all in the freezer again to set up. They were in for about an hour, with no harm to the mousse. Transporting them was tricky: I have a cooler chest that is only the height of soda cans. I lined the bottom with freezer packs; placed a cookie sheet over the cold packs and placed a cut rubber mat (I had clean, anti-slip rug-mesh) on the bottom of the cookie tray. They stayed still through the drive and stayed cold for three more hours (when eaten). Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a hit wherever I bring it! Everyone raves over this...and it makes me look like a gourmet cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have made this and i can say this is awesome. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
it was delicious!! but it never set up, so using a springform pan was NOT so good. a regular casserole dish would've been fine. the size was perfect for 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This cake didn't have the 'wow factor' that I was hoping for. I found it to be rather plain and very creamy. I ate one small slice and it was filling (I didn't crave for seconds). After reading some reviews, instant espresso or coffee would help deepen the chocolate flavour. Dark chocolate might also work better than semisweet. Unfortunately, I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
There is no better pie - I promise :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebekahacordova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made this exactly as is for Thanksgiving and Christmas and it was the biggest hit ever! Delicious, silky, heavenly bliss!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
TEN STARS ********** OK, seriously the most amazing home made choc mousse EVER. I made it for Thanksgiving and instead of a regular pie I made mini pies in mason jars. For the crust I just put some Oreo cookie crumbs at the bottom of the jar and filled the jar with the mousse. I let them sit overnight and they were PERFECT the next day (they were also amazing 3 days later). I did add a little Starbucks Via powder (Christmas Blend) to the chocolate as it was melting....that is the only change I made. D E L I S H and so easy. OH, and I used the double boiler method with simmering water in a pot and a glass bowl on top (don't let the water touch the bowl, the bowl must sit an inch or so above the water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jokenaround2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States