Death by Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is definitely a 5 star recipe. Very chocolaty & rich, yet still light & fluffy. Also, very easy to make. My 9 year old son picked this to make for dessert on the night he was in charge of making dinner & he needed minimal help from me. We skipped the homemade whipped cream for on top & just used spray whipped cream from a can - had to cut calories somewhere! May try it with mint Oreos for the crust next time & if I can find them, dark chocolate Hershey chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great - was concerned that the filling was a touch runny, so added some chocolate pudding (1/2 a pkg) to the filling. Turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jushand
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Well as you can see, I skipped steps 1&2. Here's what I did. Blow up about 8 water balloons, set aside. Melt a package of good quality chips, I used dark chocolate. I also used a cereal type bowl, and melted them in the microwave. When chocolate is smooth, dip balloons into it, swirling them around a bit to make sides even. Place on parchment paper covered tray. The balloons will stand. Place in frig until you're mousse is made. When your mousse is prepared, pop balloons, pipe mousse into bowl and refrigerate until ready to serve. Garnish with fresh whipped cream. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe was absolutely to die for! Everybody loved it. I have a few tips. First, I used a pre-made oreo cookie crust. This saves you the work of making a crust yourself and also lets you throw the pan away when the pie is gone (which will probably be very quickly!) Second, I used the food processor method to make the chocolate mixture. This worked perfectly. The chocolate was creamy and silky smooth with absolutely no lumps. Finally, the pie filling is essentially just a delicious, creamy chocolate mousse. It was fantastic even by itself, so I just put some of the mousse filling aside in a little disposable pie pan for those who were gluten-free. They were thrilled. I am definitely making this recipe again. My only disappointment was that I didn't make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Good, but what a mess it was to make! If I do it again, I'll make it in a pie plate, rather than a springform pan. It leaked out everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is so decadent! Do Not defile this master piece with Oreos, there is a simple delicious chocolate crust recipe on Allrecipies called Mock Chocolate Cookie Crust. I do not have a double boiler so I sat a glass bowl on top of a sauce pot, stuck a spoon in between the two to vent and tada! Piping on the whipped cream makes a huge difference, it makes the look match the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe is simple amazing! I could have eaten the whole cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsNobody___
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
made this as dessert for my guys bday and he loved it! I halved the recipe and made it in 5 small batches divided up in mason jars with whipped topping and mixed berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I subbed choc biscuit cookies from fresh market for oreos. Mousse is light and exactly what I was looking for. Perfect for hot summer picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious! Used a pre-made graham cracker crust but otherwise followed the recipe. It turned out so light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States