Death by Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
"Death by cheese" is a good name for this sandwich--VERY fattening and probably not the healthiest choice, but YYYYYUUUUUUUMMMMMM!!!! This was FANTASTIC, and TOO easy to make! I'll have to restrain myself from indulging too much! Next time I'll try a little sliced tomato in the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Holy cow, I don't want to even begin to think how unhealthy this snack is... BUT, all things in moderation, right?? This is just DELICIOUS!!! I tried to do my best by using low-fat mayo, and also gently frying them in a skillet sprayed with butter-flavored Pam. I also enthusiatically patted the sandwiches with paper towel before we ate them. They really were delicious, but I would not feel good about eating them more than once every 2 months.... If you're going to make them, use the strongest cheese you can find. If you're going to load up on calories, you might as well be able to taste them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
All I can say is YUM!!! This sandwich was heavenly!!!! It is quite rich and "indulgent". Perfect to curl up with on the couch on a cold and rainy afternoon or evening. My husband and I ate ours with a bowl of homemade veggie soup. Since I liked these so much, my friend and I also made these over at her house for out "movie night", and since she doesn't have a deep fryer, we just fried them in a skillet on the stove. They still turned out wonderfully. So for those who don't like as much grease (as one reviewer remarked), you might want to try this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I am giving this five stars but I must say that I cheated by adding a few ingredients like mortadella, capicollo and dijon mustard. An important thing was the bread I used. I always get my bread at the bakery so it's nice and fresh, more dense than commercial bread, and I slice it almost 1 inch thick. I also reduced the oil to about 1/2 cup for frying. The sandwiches were crispy and warm, a perfect There's nothing to make for supper, supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
More death than cheese, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
DELICIOUS! What a treat! My family and I loved it - it wasn't soggy. I added a little "crunch" to it... My modifications: *used very little mayo *used two types of cheddar and a slice of American *quickly dipped it in the egg mixture, but then I crunched up some of my favorite crackers and dipped it in that too...it was battered and coated/breaded - not soggy at all *did not deep fry - I used a seasoned cast iron skillet with very little oil. *added a tablespoon of butter the last few minutes of cooking to add some flavor and brown the bread a little. I turned out PERFECT - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
this is absolutely scrumptious! I listened to one of the other reviewers and used a stronger cheese, extra sharp chedder. turned out excellent! had a real hard time only eating 1 !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Taking all other reviews into account I made this, using a George Foreman Grill, which reduced calorie amount considerably. To a previous reviewer, who objected to the mayonnaise and cheese: 2 teaspoons mayonnaise per sandwich really seems very minimal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My 10 year old daughter and I loved it. I added jalopinoes to mine before frying it. Yummy I loved the spiciness. I will never make these again due to the fat content. But it sure was good to try at least once. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
After a sudden illness that almost cost me my life a little over a year ago I've lost a staggering amount of weight. I still have a difficult time eating much because of no appetite. So my doctors' goal now is to get me to take in protein to build my muscle mass back up. I saw this recipe and added a slice of ham to it. I then soaked my single sandwich in an egg with milk, until it was fully absorbed. Then I coated it with the breadcrumbs. Deep frying adds unnecessary calories. All that's needed is a thin coating of oil in a skillet, and I fried it until golden on both sides, then blotted on a paper towel. For many, the relatively high caloric content might pose a problem, but for me, it was just perfect. Although I could only manage half of this filling sandwich, it was excellent! The soft, egg-soaked bread contrasts with the crispy exterior. I used a slice of Jarlsberg and a slice of American, with a slice of ham in between. The meal had a nice, high protein content, with 2 slices of cheese, ham, milk and an egg. I'm going to try to reheat the rest later. I'm sure adding a couple of salted tomato slices would make this even more delicious. Thank you for posting this yummy vehicle for regaining my strength. Edited to add: Although it's impossible to retain the crispy exterior when reheated in the microwave, it was still tasty a few hours later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States