Death by Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
"Death by cheese" is a good name for this sandwich--VERY fattening and probably not the healthiest choice, but YYYYYUUUUUUUMMMMMM!!!! This was FANTASTIC, and TOO easy to make! I'll have to restrain myself from indulging too much! Next time I'll try a little sliced tomato in the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I wish I'd had the same experience as the previous reviewer of this sandwich. My husband and I both felt it was too greasy and not tasty enough to warrant the hassle of making it. I'll stick with plain old grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
my boyfriend and I made this on a whim, but they turned out to be terrible. I followed the recipe exactly and it didnt dawn on me that the oil soaks into the bread. We normally eat very healthy foods, but this was too heavy and too greasy for us. I wouldnt suggest this recipe to my worst enemy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Holy cow, I don't want to even begin to think how unhealthy this snack is... BUT, all things in moderation, right?? This is just DELICIOUS!!! I tried to do my best by using low-fat mayo, and also gently frying them in a skillet sprayed with butter-flavored Pam. I also enthusiatically patted the sandwiches with paper towel before we ate them. They really were delicious, but I would not feel good about eating them more than once every 2 months.... If you're going to make them, use the strongest cheese you can find. If you're going to load up on calories, you might as well be able to taste them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
A little drive in where I grew up made these and called them cheese fritters. The drive in has been gone for several years now and I was very excited to find this recipe. My first batch didn't turn out too well, however because I used a slice of American cheese and the sandwich did not have enough cheesy flavor. Also, be sure and don't soak the bread in the egg/milk mixture more than a second or two or it will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Taking all other reviews into account I made this, using a George Foreman Grill, which reduced calorie amount considerably. To a previous reviewer, who objected to the mayonnaise and cheese: 2 teaspoons mayonnaise per sandwich really seems very minimal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
After a sudden illness that almost cost me my life a little over a year ago I've lost a staggering amount of weight. I still have a difficult time eating much because of no appetite. So my doctors' goal now is to get me to take in protein to build my muscle mass back up. I saw this recipe and added a slice of ham to it. I then soaked my single sandwich in an egg with milk, until it was fully absorbed. Then I coated it with the breadcrumbs. Deep frying adds unnecessary calories. All that's needed is a thin coating of oil in a skillet, and I fried it until golden on both sides, then blotted on a paper towel. For many, the relatively high caloric content might pose a problem, but for me, it was just perfect. Although I could only manage half of this filling sandwich, it was excellent! The soft, egg-soaked bread contrasts with the crispy exterior. I used a slice of Jarlsberg and a slice of American, with a slice of ham in between. The meal had a nice, high protein content, with 2 slices of cheese, ham, milk and an egg. I'm going to try to reheat the rest later. I'm sure adding a couple of salted tomato slices would make this even more delicious. Thank you for posting this yummy vehicle for regaining my strength. Edited to add: Although it's impossible to retain the crispy exterior when reheated in the microwave, it was still tasty a few hours later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
this is absolutely scrumptious! I listened to one of the other reviewers and used a stronger cheese, extra sharp chedder. turned out excellent! had a real hard time only eating 1 !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I really, really, really wanted to love this recipe. It just didn't have much personality. I will definitely make this again but I think I will add onion, tomato and maybe bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This recipe wasn't horrible, but since we didn't have a deep fryer we just fried it in a pan. The sandwich was way too soggy and we had to eat it with a fork since it was so heavy. It sounded great, maybe if we had a deep fryer it would have come out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States