Death by Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
"Death by cheese" is a good name for this sandwich--VERY fattening and probably not the healthiest choice, but YYYYYUUUUUUUMMMMMM!!!! This was FANTASTIC, and TOO easy to make! I'll have to restrain myself from indulging too much! Next time I'll try a little sliced tomato in the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I wish I'd had the same experience as the previous reviewer of this sandwich. My husband and I both felt it was too greasy and not tasty enough to warrant the hassle of making it. I'll stick with plain old grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
All I can say is YUM!!! This sandwich was heavenly!!!! It is quite rich and "indulgent". Perfect to curl up with on the couch on a cold and rainy afternoon or evening. My husband and I ate ours with a bowl of homemade veggie soup. Since I liked these so much, my friend and I also made these over at her house for out "movie night", and since she doesn't have a deep fryer, we just fried them in a skillet on the stove. They still turned out wonderfully. So for those who don't like as much grease (as one reviewer remarked), you might want to try this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
A little drive in where I grew up made these and called them cheese fritters. The drive in has been gone for several years now and I was very excited to find this recipe. My first batch didn't turn out too well, however because I used a slice of American cheese and the sandwich did not have enough cheesy flavor. Also, be sure and don't soak the bread in the egg/milk mixture more than a second or two or it will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
family couldn't handle the combination of mayo and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Holy cow, I don't want to even begin to think how unhealthy this snack is... BUT, all things in moderation, right?? This is just DELICIOUS!!! I tried to do my best by using low-fat mayo, and also gently frying them in a skillet sprayed with butter-flavored Pam. I also enthusiatically patted the sandwiches with paper towel before we ate them. They really were delicious, but I would not feel good about eating them more than once every 2 months.... If you're going to make them, use the strongest cheese you can find. If you're going to load up on calories, you might as well be able to taste them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I am giving this five stars but I must say that I cheated by adding a few ingredients like mortadella, capicollo and dijon mustard. An important thing was the bread I used. I always get my bread at the bakery so it's nice and fresh, more dense than commercial bread, and I slice it almost 1 inch thick. I also reduced the oil to about 1/2 cup for frying. The sandwiches were crispy and warm, a perfect There's nothing to make for supper, supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
this is absolutely scrumptious! I listened to one of the other reviewers and used a stronger cheese, extra sharp chedder. turned out excellent! had a real hard time only eating 1 !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This recipe wasn't horrible, but since we didn't have a deep fryer we just fried it in a pan. The sandwich was way too soggy and we had to eat it with a fork since it was so heavy. It sounded great, maybe if we had a deep fryer it would have come out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
We had a drive-in that used to make these and they were my very favorites. I was excited to find this recipe but not so excited to eat them. I probably did wrong when I used processed cheese slices. As my mother says "everything tastes good when someone else makes it" I'm not sure if I will go to the trouble to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States