Death by Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
my boyfriend and I made this on a whim, but they turned out to be terrible. I followed the recipe exactly and it didnt dawn on me that the oil soaks into the bread. We normally eat very healthy foods, but this was too heavy and too greasy for us. I wouldnt suggest this recipe to my worst enemy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I really, really, really wanted to love this recipe. It just didn't have much personality. I will definitely make this again but I think I will add onion, tomato and maybe bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Taking all other reviews into account I made this, using a George Foreman Grill, which reduced calorie amount considerably. To a previous reviewer, who objected to the mayonnaise and cheese: 2 teaspoons mayonnaise per sandwich really seems very minimal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
We had a drive-in that used to make these and they were my very favorites. I was excited to find this recipe but not so excited to eat them. I probably did wrong when I used processed cheese slices. As my mother says "everything tastes good when someone else makes it" I'm not sure if I will go to the trouble to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This recipe wasn't horrible, but since we didn't have a deep fryer we just fried it in a pan. The sandwich was way too soggy and we had to eat it with a fork since it was so heavy. It sounded great, maybe if we had a deep fryer it would have come out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
this is absolutely scrumptious! I listened to one of the other reviewers and used a stronger cheese, extra sharp chedder. turned out excellent! had a real hard time only eating 1 !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I am giving this five stars but I must say that I cheated by adding a few ingredients like mortadella, capicollo and dijon mustard. An important thing was the bread I used. I always get my bread at the bakery so it's nice and fresh, more dense than commercial bread, and I slice it almost 1 inch thick. I also reduced the oil to about 1/2 cup for frying. The sandwiches were crispy and warm, a perfect There's nothing to make for supper, supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Holy cow, I don't want to even begin to think how unhealthy this snack is... BUT, all things in moderation, right?? This is just DELICIOUS!!! I tried to do my best by using low-fat mayo, and also gently frying them in a skillet sprayed with butter-flavored Pam. I also enthusiatically patted the sandwiches with paper towel before we ate them. They really were delicious, but I would not feel good about eating them more than once every 2 months.... If you're going to make them, use the strongest cheese you can find. If you're going to load up on calories, you might as well be able to taste them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
family couldn't handle the combination of mayo and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
A little drive in where I grew up made these and called them cheese fritters. The drive in has been gone for several years now and I was very excited to find this recipe. My first batch didn't turn out too well, however because I used a slice of American cheese and the sandwich did not have enough cheesy flavor. Also, be sure and don't soak the bread in the egg/milk mixture more than a second or two or it will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States