Death by Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
More death than cheese, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Great recipe! My husband and I loved these. Super easy and a nice change of pace from traditional grilled cheese. Must admit tough, rather than fry the sandwiches in oil, I melted margarine in a nonstick pan and toasted them that way. Not nearly as greasy and the salty margarine taste was a plus. Leftovers were a hit on the second day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
After a sudden illness that almost cost me my life a little over a year ago I've lost a staggering amount of weight. I still have a difficult time eating much because of no appetite. So my doctors' goal now is to get me to take in protein to build my muscle mass back up. I saw this recipe and added a slice of ham to it. I then soaked my single sandwich in an egg with milk, until it was fully absorbed. Then I coated it with the breadcrumbs. Deep frying adds unnecessary calories. All that's needed is a thin coating of oil in a skillet, and I fried it until golden on both sides, then blotted on a paper towel. For many, the relatively high caloric content might pose a problem, but for me, it was just perfect. Although I could only manage half of this filling sandwich, it was excellent! The soft, egg-soaked bread contrasts with the crispy exterior. I used a slice of Jarlsberg and a slice of American, with a slice of ham in between. The meal had a nice, high protein content, with 2 slices of cheese, ham, milk and an egg. I'm going to try to reheat the rest later. I'm sure adding a couple of salted tomato slices would make this even more delicious. Thank you for posting this yummy vehicle for regaining my strength. Edited to add: Although it's impossible to retain the crispy exterior when reheated in the microwave, it was still tasty a few hours later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My 10 year old daughter and I loved it. I added jalopinoes to mine before frying it. Yummy I loved the spiciness. I will never make these again due to the fat content. But it sure was good to try at least once. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Waaaaay too greasy and mayo on a hot fried sandwich didn't go over too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was okay...little more crunchy then normal grill cheese. At this moment not sure if I would make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetbanana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Ok, I saw this recipe and I *had* to try it. I used wheat bread, italian seasoned bread crumbs and put a little parmesan in the bread crumbs. Also, I thought the frying it in oil was a little much, so I cooked it in a pan with a little 100% canola margerine. It really was good, but I won't be making it too often because of the unhealthy factor. I think some tomato on it would be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
DELICIOUS! What a treat! My family and I loved it - it wasn't soggy. I added a little "crunch" to it... My modifications: *used very little mayo *used two types of cheddar and a slice of American *quickly dipped it in the egg mixture, but then I crunched up some of my favorite crackers and dipped it in that too...it was battered and coated/breaded - not soggy at all *did not deep fry - I used a seasoned cast iron skillet with very little oil. *added a tablespoon of butter the last few minutes of cooking to add some flavor and brown the bread a little. I turned out PERFECT - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
so obviously this is not the healthiest of sandwhiches...especially when the 1st ingredient is a quart of oil :-) but it is an amazing sandwhich & while your not watching you weight when making this, put a few slices of turkey bacon in there! It's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States